Fleeting focus

Sometimes I wonder if I have adult ADHD.

There are so many things that I like, that I want to do, that distract me, that sometimes I wonder what will finally ground me.

This morning I hoped to find my ipod sitting at my desk at work. That’s the last place I remember seeing it. That may be the last place I remember seeing it but that’s not the last place it’s been. I actually don’t know where that place is.

I spent half of my “planning” before 1st period looking in my car and around my room. I called home and felt quite a bit upset at first. I lost my focus on the day. I struggled to regain it in the next 20 minutes. Even though I thought I put it out of my mind I kept thinking about it.

During my actual planning I called 3 places where it might possibly be. I didn’t think that it would be there. I was right. After that I realized that there was nothing I could do about it. I went into super organizing mode so that I would be ready to teach my beautiful 3rd period 6th graders and so that I could quickly pack up at the end of the day for a meeting.

I know that God gave me my focus back. I felt like a teacher. That’s a funny thing to say since I am one. I guess only a teacher would understand the questioning times. I thank God for every time he helps me feel like a teacher. He has been so good lately.

I had a great 5th period. I say that even though I had to assign a detention and 2nd step to 2 separate students. I had an even better 6th period.

Then came the meeting and afterwards. For my half marathon training I was supposed to run 3.5 miles. It has been a very long time since I ran without something plugged into my ears. I seriously considered just skipping. God pushed me forward. Granted, I ran while watching One Tree Hill (my guilty pleasure–I don’t understand why I love that show so much) but still, I ran.

After the run, I got on the computer and I ordered a new ipod. I have no idea what I’m going to do with 160 GB storage (the old one had 80 GB) but since they discontinued my model I chose this one and in black. She comes in a few days, my little Evita Raquelita. Now I’ll be prepared for the coming long runs and my 5k in 2 weeks.

One final comment, God designed our bodies so well. He wants us to take care of them and when we do he gives us such a great reward. I love feeling fit and I want to be able to give thanks to God every time I do.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflections, teaching

Leave a Reply

