The little things

When things have a history of going wrong, even a little improvement can make me giddy with excitement.

5th period gave me that little boost of excitement today. I suppose I had myself set up to expect nothing better than what they started giving me. Of course, I didn’t want to come to the end of my day worn out and worry about what tomorrow might bring. I did not want to constantly have to think and rethink my plans because it probably wouldn’t work with 5th period.

I can see the light at the end of the tunnel now.

When I asked them to be quiet they got quiet. Granted, I had to ask them 2 or 3 times as much as my other periods. Still, we got through the notes quicker with that period than any other. I told them that and started handing out reward tickets because they had done so well. Of course, this was the end of the period and they started talking.

I didn’t let it get to me. I still plan to follow through. For once I did not have to advance anyone on one of the steps. I have to stay consistent or I will lose them. I will not let that happen. I want what’s best for those kids. I have to keep that in mind or I will fall back to the surviving mode.

1 Comment

Filed under teaching

One response to “The little things

  1. Dad

    Reading these first few entries, I said a prayer of thanksgiving for God’s grace and leading. He has been amazing and you have come a long way. I am proud of you and am joining you in praying for God’s continual work in you life.

    I love you

    Dad

Leave a Reply

