A Thanksgiving feast for Three

I had such a blast cooking today. I stood on my feet and cooked for over 4 hours but it felt like 20 minutes. I feel like I made great strides in my cooking today.

Here comes my second attempt at a blog with pictures.

We used the table as a staging point for all the ingredients and materials

Meet my lovely assistant…my father with his apron and meat thermometer.

He really did have a hand in nearly everything.

First up came the dough for the Pumpkin Garlic Knots (http://ohsheglows.com/2010/10/21/itty-bitty-garlic-pumpkin-knots/) since it had to rise for at least 2 hours.

Pardon the terrible hair. I made sure to tell my assistant to focus on the action rather than me.

After covering the dough and setting it aside to rise I started mixing together the ingredients for Mama Pea’s Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Balls (http://peasandthankyou.com/2010/11/09/having-a-ball/). This was a last minute addition because I’ve heard so much about it.This is the last time I smiled while mixing the dough due all to the mixer under my left hand, the mixer from you know where. Check out where it ended up.

I started the potatoes for the High Protein Mashed Potatoes (http://ohsheglows.com/2010/09/08/high-protein-garlic-mashed-potatoes/)  since they needed to boil for half an hour. (40 minutes later I realized I turned the wrong burner on but everything worked out.)

While I worked on the vegan side dishes my lovely assistant got the turkey going with apples instead of stuffing. (He didn’t think it would work at first because it took much longer to thaw.)

Next we started prepping the veggies for the Maple Roasted Veggies (http://www.fannetasticfood.com/recipes/maple-cinnamon-roasted-veggies/). I had my assistant peel and chop the butternut squash. I had a hard time the last time I cooked butternut squash.

While my assistant took care of the butternut squash I peeled the sweet potatoes for Spiced Sweet Potatoes (http://www.fannetasticfood.com/recipes/spiced-mashed-sweet-potatoes/), put them in a pot to boil and peeled and chopped the carrots.

At this point the sweet potatoes are boiling away but the potatoes are sitting in cold water. I heated the right burner about 10 minutes later.

I put the butternut squash, carrots and broccoli in a bowl and then added maple syrup and cinnamon.

The broccoli tasted wonderful but didn’t look so great. (You’ll see later.) I wanted to include parsnips but couldn’t find any yesterday.

I put the veggies on a tray in the oven and then started to mash the sweet potatoes. I discovered that I love mashing potatoes by hand. They have such a thick texture with just enough clumps.

After mashing I added cumin and cinnamon. For my tastes the cumin was too much. I should have adjusted it because I used small sweet potatoes. My sister on the other hand loved them.

I didn’t bring my food processor so we had to make do with a blender. After several tries my lovely assistant managed to puree the garlic and white kidney bean mixture to add to the potatoes.

I mashed the potatoes a little, skin on, before I added the beans

Next we started preparing the lemon garlic string beans (http://www.fannetasticfood.com/recipes/lemon-garlic-string-beans/). While I added lemon to the beans my assistant minced the garlic. (I gave him this job not because he does it so well but because I hate the way my fingers smell after.)

Then I got to make Mama Pea’s Blueberry Cranberry Sauce. (http://peasandthankyou.com/2010/11/23/be-my-friend/) Best in the world! What I was most looking forward to!

First I combined orange juice and sugar and brought it to a boil. Then I added the cranberries…

and blueberries before pouring it into the cutest bowl ever!

Lastly came the prep for the Apple Streusel Cake in a Jar

I also put the crumbly peanut butter cookie dough ball dough into balls. (Was that sentence confusing? If so, I apologize.) Next time I’ll add more peanut butter.

Finally I added the butter and garlic mixture to the pumpkin garlic knots and stuck them in the oven.

Four and a half hours (or so) later everything was ready.

Here’s my plate. I forgot the cranberry sauce at first and don’t have a picture of my plate with it. However, the cranberry sauce was the overall winner.

After dinner I headed over to my grandparents for pie, 5 different kinds!

God made this Thanksgiving possibly the best I’ve ever had. I’m very thankful for all He’s done.

Leave a comment

Filed under Categories Past Their Prime

Leave a Reply

