First ever Turkey Trot

Well, since many things ended up not going the traditional way (aka the way I had hoped) I decided to sign up for my first ever race on Thanksgiving Day.

I arrived nice and early because it was a closed course and if I arrived when I normally do for a race I would have to park off campus and walk a very long way to the start. I’m glad I arrived early because I needed the time to pick up my bib, t-shirt and chip. This was my first ever race running with a chip attached to my shoe rather than my bib.

Because I was so early I had to stand around for half an hour before the race started. I went on my own so I stood around on my own until I ended up chatting for 15 minutes with a perfect stranger.

Then the race started. To be honest, I don’t feel like recapping all of it so I’ll just hit the highlights. This was my first 8k, the second longest race I’ve run.  Also, it’s been a few weeks since I have run that distance. In addition, I hiked to the top of Table Rock and back yesterday (7.6 miles). Altogether I don’t think I was prepared properly for the race.

I felt my lack of preparedness about midway to three-quarters through the race. I kept going though and tried to drown out the mental bashing my mind was cycling through. I kept aiming for a steady pace and to finish around 45 minutes.

My time? 43:10 officially. I nailed it. Right now I think my race pace is 8:40 or thereabouts. For now that’s a good pace. I need to get it under 8 if I hope to qualify for Boston eventually but for now I’ll focus on taking first 10 seconds then another 10 and so on and so forth off my pace.

After I crossed the line I stood and waited for someone to cut the band. He cut the band and I struggled to unloop the plastic band from my shoelaces. When I pulled it off there was no chip. I couldn’t figure out where it had gone. I resigned myself to not having an official chip time. Fortunately, the volunteer who cut the band originally must have picked it up off the ground while I struggled to pull the band out.

I really liked the race and the idea of running on Thanksgiving. I’m definitely thankful for it because I have been cooking all afternoon. (Post to come later) I think my dad and I made enough to feed a family of 7 or 8 (or more) and 3 of us are eating. Plenty of leftovers!

I’m going to try to get a post with plenty of pictures up either tonight or tomorrow with the makings of 6 new recipes.

Yay for running! My next race isn’t until December 11th. I think that’s a good date. 😀

Leave a comment

Filed under race recaps

Leave a Reply

