New Name (Reverb #23)

Finally caught up! Oh, I’m also out of the lunch rut.

That interesting looking sandwich is a grilled banana sandwich courtesy of Caitlin at healthytippingpoint.com. I added my own twist on it though, peanut butter. Gotta have it!

While I like today’s prompt I struggled to see how it actually fits with reflecting on the past year. From my twitter feeds I can tell that I’m not the only one.

Today’s prompt asked “if [I] could introduce [myself] to strangers by another name for just one day, what would it be and why?”

Where’s the past year stuff, right?

Moving right along. I don’t have to strain my brain for this one. If I could introduce myself with another name it would be Eva Raquel Madera. Yes, I even have a middle name.

Here’s the history behind the name.

In my high school Spanish class I had to choose a “Spanish” name for the class. I had just met a hispanic girl in my science class and loved her name, Raquel. So that became my name for the year.

By the end of the year however I wasn’t as much of a fan. So, sophomore year and Spanish II comes around. I chose a different name, Eva. I still like that one. Unfortunately my Spanish teacher kept calling me Raquel so after a couple weeks she started calling me “Eva Raquel Madera” to keep the names straight. Where does “Madera” come from? Well, it’s my last name translated to Spanish.

Now why have I held onto the name? Why do I still remember it?

I have always wanted a pseudonym. I’m not sure which author with a pseudonym caught my attention in high school but as soon as my Spanish teacher said all three names together a lightbulb went off over my head. That was it. That’s my pen name aka pseudonym.

Now that I’m older I’m fairly certain that if I write a book I will not use a pseudonym. I like my real name just fine. That doesn’t mean that I don’t use Eva Raquel Madera any more. Take a look at the address for the blog. Of course, that might change to Stepping Out as I work on building up my blog followers (or it may not).

Why would I introduce myself as Eva Madera for a day if I could?

Well, in my mind Eva Madera is the creative me. Eva is the writer, photographer, foodie inside me, a side fighting to come out. I feel like I could pretend that I already was all of those things. Actually, when I channel my inner Eva (lol) the words flow better. I see the world around me better. I put the ingredients together better.

So there you have it. My alter ego is Eva Raquel Madera. Should I come up with personality quirks for her too?

Leave a comment

Filed under Reverb10

Leave a Reply

