Travel (Reverb #22)

Look familiar? If I like something I repeat it. I wonder how many days in a row this is going to be my breakfast. (If it’s more than one more I won’t bother you with pictures.)

I am so excited about the prompt. (I almost said today’s prompt but I am not quite caught up yet.) December 22’s prompt asked “How did [I] travel in 2010? How and/or where would you like to travel next year?”

Oh my word! I wanted to jump out of order with the prompts and answer this one when I read it yesterday. I made myself wait though.

How did I travel this past year? Where did I travel to?

First, I rode in a car for many, many hours to the Outer Banks for our family beach vacation. I loved the character of the house, built first in 1923 and later relocated to its current position. I loved the position too. A few minutes drive and we were at Kitty Hawk, the Kitty Hawk. Any historical moment gets my blood pumping. I also discovered a love of light houses when we drove up to the Currituck Lighthouse and even climbed to the top. We discovered then that a little bit longer drive and some ATVs would allow us to see where the Misty of Chintetique (I know it’s not spelled correctly.) took place. After all the wrangling it took to decide on a house this trip was well worth it.

Next I hopped on a plane with my dad for the quickest trip I’ve ever taken. For my 4th of July birthday my dad took me to Boston, that historical mecca, for a day trip to see my Boston Red Sox play on my birthday. For a Yankees fan, that’s the ultimate sacrifice. The rest of the trip wasn’t so much of a torture for him. Using the public transportation system we made our way from the hotel to the historical Old Town to walk the Freedom Trail and see things like the Boston Commons, Old North Church, Paul Revere’s house, and much more. Wow. I felt like I was in history heaven! The only thing that would have made this trip perfect would be the Red Sox winning the game. It was still cool to go to a game in historic Fenway park.

Third, Mom and I got on a plane to head down to Fort Lauderdale to board our cruise ship. This trip was her third but my first. It was really cool to have an “insider” so we didn’t make all the rookie mistakes. Even though a tropical storm mixed up our itinerary we still got to go to Cozumel where we ended up on ATVs (I have no idea how that happened) and saw the beautiful Cozumel jungle. We also managed to make it to Key West. Honestly, I’m not that big of a fan of Key West but now I can say that I have been to the southernmost point in the United States.

Lastly, Mom and I took a plane again and headed out to a familiar haunt, Los Angeles, for her 35th high school reunion. Every time I visit California I feel like I’m coming home. I wouldn’t be surprised if one of these days I end up moving out to California. Even though we’ve been so many times Mom and I found some new things to do. We headed downtown, walked around Hollywood and HIghland (which enabled us to say “oh we’ve been there!” when the next NCIS: Los Angeles came on), walked on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, saw the handprints in front of Grauman’s Chinese Theatre, and saw some Latin singer get his star (one day later it would have been Emma Thompson!) We also drove down to the Santa Monica (which somehow became Santa Montica) Pier, took Mom to Buca di Beppo, visited pinkberry and then crawled along in traffic to a Dodger’s game. (All firsts for me)

I loved every place that I traveled to, including this Christmas week visit to the beach.

What do I hope for next year?

I hope at least to go to the beach with the family next summer. We have yet to make plans though. My dream goal would be to spend about 2 weeks in Great Britain this summer. I’ve looked and brainstormed but we’ll see if that works out. (Obviously I would fly. A cruise would be prohibitively expensive unfortunately.)

On to whatever travels God has planned for me in 2011.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reverb10

Leave a Reply

