A Brand New Year

I woke up without a hangover. Of course, I didn’t have anything to drink last night so…

I tried to get myself to focus on preparation for work and managed to extend my to do list by 5 pages. I could write a whole post about how I feel about going back to work but I won’t.

For some reason the start of the new year meant clearing out the house. While looking for a utensil all the cupboards got cleaned out and temporarily spilled out onto the floor.

Then came the sad job of “de-Christmasing” the house, my least favorite part of the season.

We started here:

and ended here.

To add to the “de-Christmasing” spirit, the rain continued all day so I moved my 10k run inside and finished just before heading to my grandparents for New Year’s Day dinner. The dinner on New Year’s Day is the big deal for my family rather than New Year’s Eve.

At their house the Christmas tree is still up,

and the stockings are still hung by the fire.

We arrived just in time for dinner and this time it was simple to hide the lack of meat. 7 vegetable options makes that quite simple.

I got my first "why are you taking pictures of your food?" with this one

and ended with traditional blueberry torte. It’s not my favorite but it’s tradition.

A successful night was had by all.

Even though some people didn’t want their picture taken,

or enjoyed posing too much,

or simply had quite enough to eat.

Leave a comment

Filed under Categories Past Their Prime

Leave a Reply

