Let It Sink In

Look what came for me in the mail today!

I got so excited I nearly fell off the treadmill. (Not really but it sounded good.) But that’s not what this post is about.

Last night I attended my first ever yoga class. I have thought about attending a yoga class for quite some time now. My sister has been attending for a while now when she can. I have also read a lot about yoga through the lovely blogger ladies I follow.

Was I excited? Not really. I was super nervous probably because I expected to be surrounded my people capable of these kinds of poses.

While I pictured myself like the people in this picture here.

During the class I lost my balance many times. I didn’t completely understand some of the instructions the instructor gave. I did poses wrong, very wrong. It didn’t feel bad though. Most of my apprehension and insecurities about yoga were self-imposed.

I don’t like being inadequate. I don’t like doing something where I’m not at least fairly confident, not necessarily the best but also not the worst. I don’t think I was the worst but I felt like it at times and I didn’t like that.

Of course I know that more classes will help. When I left the class though I didn’t know if I would go back. I actually didn’t know how I felt about the class, about yoga itself. I made myself not rush to judgement.

Later that night I felt really good. My body felt really good. That feeling hasn’t gone away. If anything it has actually increased. Then today when I got on the treadmill today for interval training I thought that I would slow down the walking intervals after the 4th 400 meters at 5k pace. When I got there I felt so great I just kept going! I absolutely love it! I’m sure that yoga will help my running too.

I learned that I need to let it sink in.

I took a big step by going. I crossed one of my goals off my list already! (I’m thinking about changing trying one new exercise this year to trying one new exercise each month. I haven’t decided though.)

I’m not a yogini yet but I might be in the future.

4 Comments

Filed under goal

4 responses to “Let It Sink In

  1. I got Veganomicon for Christmas! Yayy! And congrats on your yoga 🙂

  2. I love Veganomicon! I do yoga at home and love it, but I think I would feel the same way you did going to a class. You have a great attitude about it though. People seem to love their classes and yeah, I bet it is a great compliment to running!

  3. Thank you so much for the comments ladies! I feel nerdy because I’m getting so excited! 😀

  4. Pingback: The Year of Yes–2011 in Review | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

