Three steps forward, two steps back…part 1

It seems like everyone has a weight loss story and this is mine.

Growing up I never thought about weight loss. Well, that’s not completely accurate. I always thanked God for the family I was born in and our veggie loving ways. (Even if I didn’t love veggies at the time.) No one on my mom’s side of the family is overweight. Most are extremely thin, including my mom who was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism when I was very young.

The truth is, I never thought about weight loss because I never thought about food. When I started thinking about this post I racked my brain to remember how I thought about food before I started sparkpeople. I can’t remember.

Looking at myself before I lost weight I never would have guessed that I weighed 175 pounds.

My cousin, sister and I in 2007 (I'm on the left)

(my cousin, sister and I (left) in 2007)

I had an aha moment around March 2008. I was sitting in the chair in the living room and realized that when I leaned over I had love handles. I didn’t like that. I decided to do something about it.

I wasn’t sure what to do at first but I told my mom. She then told me about a site her coworker found, sparkpeople.com. I wasn’t sure at first but I decided to go for it.

I signed up and started participating right away. Sparkpeople is a free site that I highly recommend. For the competitive side of me there were the sparkpoints that you could earn by doing different things on the site like tracking your food and exercise, reading nutrition articles, and commenting on the message boards. (The community support is great.)

By the time the next year rolled around I was down to 138.

I know I clash but who cares?

I felt great, knew I looked great and felt thrilled to see a number in the 130s on the scale.

For me it was too much about numbers though. I focused on the scale and only the scale. My overall nutrition and fitness was sorely lacking. I’ll discuss that though in part 2 to come some time later this week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Categories Past Their Prime

Leave a Reply

