Brought to you by Stir Crazy Productions

The district cancelled school for Tuesday at about 9 Monday morning. (This afternoon they also cancelled school for Wednesday. I’m not sure I’ll get into work at all this week.)

After reading blogs, getting caught up on twitter and reading some of Sense and Sensibility I started to get a bit restless just before 2 in the afternoon.

I decided to run upstairs, clean up a few things in my room and get rid of a few things. A few hours later I had filled an entire bag with recycling, another with trash and a few other smaller bags with donations. Also, did I mention that I got rid of two pieces of furniture and moved 5 others?

First I started in the closet. I don’t have any before pictures but here’s what the top shelf of the closet looked like once I got everything down.

I wasn’t near done. It all ended up on the bed.

I thought I would leave it at cleaning up what was on the bed. I didn’t. I cleaned the things I through on the bed three times.

Then I looked around and decided that it was time to get rid of the maps. Don’t get me wrong. I love maps. I love geography. I love Lord of the Rings. I’m not 16 anymore. I think it’s time to get more mature decorations for my bedroom. Down came the maps.

The only map I left untouched was my world map. I have a push pin in every major city I have been in. I still kind of like the idea of adding to that one.

In June that little island on the right top corner will have it's own push pin

After the maps I decided to move the filing cabinet back into my mother’s closet. She loaned it to me to use in my classroom last year. When I didn’t need it in my new room I brought it home with all kinds of organizational goals. Now it’s just taking up room.

Down it came.

Then I looked in the corner and saw my old dresser.

I’ve always had this dresser.

I used this dresser when I was 5. I used this dresser when I was 15. This dresser moved with me to our new house. I still use this dresser at 25. Or at least, up until this afternoon I used this dresser.

It doesn’t match anything else in my room. It gets in the way. It’s pretty beat up. I used only the top 2 drawers. I decided to get rid of it.

I cleared out all the drawers. I put all my underclothes in a small set of shelves I have in my closet. I emptied the bottom two drawers. (By that I mean threw it all on my bed.)

Then I cleared out everything under my windowsill so I could move my desk under the window.

also present is the now moved filing cabinet

I also decided to completely rearrange the room. I didn’t take any before pictures but here’s what my room looked like afterwards. (I delayed taking “after” pictures until my desk was completely clean because I knew I was going to post this on the blog! Talk about motivation!)

check out the winter wonderland out my window!

I love my room now! I also love the crazy energy I got to rearrange and get rid of so much stuff in my room thanks to being stir crazy. lol

While I appreciate the day off I’m ready to get back to a regular work and work out schedule. I haven’t gotten an actual sweaty workout since Saturday’s 9 miler. I will make myself work out tomorrow.

On a side note, look what I discovered in the clean up!

Many years ago my grandpa gave me his very old SLR to help me further my photography love. I hate to admit that I haven’t used it once. I’m not sure how to use it but I’m going to use up the 4 rolls of film in the case and hopefully learn a few tricks of the trade along the way.

Thanks for sticking with me through this rather long post!

Leave a comment

Filed under Categories Past Their Prime

Leave a Reply

