Week 1 without caffeine

Wow. It’s hard to imagine that last week I started this caffeine detox on my last day off after an unexpected week of “snowcation”. It feels like a different world now for many reasons, the least of which is caffeine.
Last week I finished teaching first semester. I will admit that I looked at the clock on my Promethean board quite a few times to count down the minutes for all my classes except my sixth graders.
Yesterday I started teaching 153(ish) new students and I really miss my sixth graders. I’m praying for God’s help on that one. (That’s another post altogether.) Today I embark in the unknown. Today I start teaching all in Spanish and I’m a little bit nervous.
But that’s not what this post is about, or not at least what I said it would be about.
I have taken caffeine out of my diet and replaced it, mornings only, with decaf coffee. I did not buy my weekly diet Dr. Pepper at Costco. I did not succumb to the temptation when I saw it at the store later.
Results?
Last week I felt extremely lethargic Wednesday, Thursday and Friday mornings. I’m not sure if it was just because I was super busy yesterday but I did not drag at all. I don’t feel really draggy today either.
I honestly did not really miss the weekly diet Dr. Pepper from Costco. I think I will keep up this habit even if I incorporate caffeine back into my lifestyle.
This might be TMI but every morning I try to drink my entire 24 oz camelbak bottle and then have some decaf coffee on my way in to work in the morning. When I drank regular coffee I had to use the restroom twice, once when I first got in and then again right before the students came. Since switching to decaf I have had to go 3 and 4 times and I always feel ready to burst by the time first period ends. If this pattern remains I may have to cut out the decaf coffee as well. I’m not sure what that is.
Today marks day 9 and the second day of week 2. I’m excited to see where I am at day 28.

1 Comment

Filed under goal

One response to “Week 1 without caffeine

  1. Pingback: Forgotten caffeine and blog future « Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

