Unplugged

I had one of the best runs ever this afternoon and I didn’t plan it at all.

This morning I nearly finished three different recipes for lunches and suppers for the 7 day vegan week. (more to come in a kick off post tomorrow). After working in kidstuff at church I came home to finish up and to make today’s lunch.

Around 1:30 Mom came into the kitchen in workout gear and told me when I asked that she was going to pump since she didn’t have to go back to church tonight. (Our church moved Sunday evening’s service to Saturday  so that people could invite people over for the Superbowl as a ministry opportunity.)

I immediately wanted to go but said that I wouldn’t. The last time I did pump I felt the most sore I have ever felt in my life. I didn’t want to do that before the half marathon. Then I changed my mind 15 minutes later and dashed off to change.

I’m glad I went. I took it easy on the legs but pushed on the arms. (My arms are screaming at me as I hold them up slightly to type.) Then Mom asked if I minded if she ran an errand before going home. I said sure.

As we drove I looked out the window and had the sudden urge to run in the beautiful, sunny Sunday afternoon weather. I told Mom. She asked if I wanted to get out and run. I said yes!

She pulled over. I hopped out and started running. She took off.

I couldn’t figure out at first what was so different. Then it hit me. I didn’t have anything, no garmin, no ipod, no nothing. I have never run outside without music. Wow.

I decided to enjoy it. I walked up the Hill of Death (as I affectionately call it) because I could. I crossed the road when there were no cars coming, not at the cross walk. I ran when I wanted. I walked when I wanted. I turned around at the next signal so I could run down the hill.

Wow. I could hear everything. When no cars approached from either side I could hear my feet striking the pavement. I could hear my breathing. I could hear my hair bouncing on my head.

When I saw Mom again I sprinted because I could.

Talk about the best run ever. I don’t know how long I ran. I don’t know how fast I ran. I know I’m not a no-music racer but I don’t care.

2011 is the year of yes. 2011 is the year of just do it!

1 Comment

Filed under Categories Past Their Prime, running

One response to “Unplugged

  1. I love the sense of freedom I felt from this post.

Leave a Reply

