Lessons of a Temporary Vegan

After Oprah’s episode on veganism I decided to join Morgan in a 7 day vegan challenge.

Going into the challenge I wasn’t sure if I would be able to keep it up for all 7 days because of the travel to Hilton Head plus the half marathon. A few days into the week I decided to stick to a strict vegan diet for 4 days and then loosen the restrictions for the remaining three days.

In no particular order, here are the lessons I learned from my 4 days of veganism:

1. I love LUNA bars. When I discovered that my go to protein bar had whey in it I had to come up with an alternative. I decided to try a sampling of vegan bars from Trader Joe’s: Pure, Larabar, and LUNA. I loved the LUNA bars so much that I’m going to sue them as a reward for myself whenever I give myself a goal to work towards. 😀

2. Animal products are in nearly everything! I tried to prep ahead of time and have enough snacks on hand so I didn’t face too many difficulties. (I didn’t try to go out to eat at all so I’m not sure how that would have gone.)

3. While I love trying new things I learned for sure that I will never, ever adopt a vegan diet. There’s too much restriction. In fact, I realized that I don’t like restrictions on my diet at all. I don’t think I will ever become a strict vegetarian. I’m okay with that.

1 Comment

Filed under Categories Past Their Prime, goal, Reflections

One response to “Lessons of a Temporary Vegan

  1. eric

    Did you hear my cheers when I read this post….lol

Leave a Reply

