Monday Musings

I have so much that I want to talk about today and the only uniting factor is that it all happened in my life.

Let me start by saying that I know nothing about fashion, except that pink denim dresses have never (and will never) be in fashion. When I shop I have to take my sister along. I wouldn’t even know where to start.

Saturday we finally made it to the mall and I spent more at one time than I ever thought I would (apart from school) but at least I saved $113 with a 15% off coupon.

I tried out one of the new outfits today.

So, you can’t see any of the pretty ruffles on the shirt (or the fact that the shirt is blue) but it’s a work in progress. I think I actually look like a teacher here.

After work I headed to the gym to change and back out for a 5 mile run.

Oh my word, I have done plenty of 5 mile training runs before both good and bad. None come close to how absolutely awesome this one was!  (aside from nearly getting hit by a car, twice at the same street…once on the way out and the other on the way in)

When the first mile came about and I saw that my pace was 8:29 I was honestly surprised. It didn’t feel hard.

Here are my stats:
Mile 1: 8:29
Mile 2: 9:01 (killer hill…but my times used to be just over 10!)
Mile 3: 8:59
Mile 4: 8:57
Mile 5: 8:02

Now let me tell you about that last mile. I tried to adjust my route so I could end on a downhill. It didn’t work. I thought about pausing the timer, walking the uphill and then finishing on the downhill. I told myself no and instead sprinted through it and saw a 6:41 on the garmin when I finished!

I think the biggest thing holding me back when I run is my mind. When I tell myself I can do it, I do it!

After the run I couldn’t wait to get home to make supper. I know, who am I?

I splurged on some Madras Lentils at Costco so I cooked a package of those while assembling a salad. I really should call it a salad beast.

What’s inside:
lettuce mix
shredded carrots
persian cucumbers
vegan cheddar rice shreds
craisins

I couldn’t even finish the bowl much less the lentils. Wow. I think I might have salads more.

Finally, per request from my faithful assistant (remember him?)

We went to the local hockey game, first time since the old team disbanded and we got a new team. Dad wants the picture. So, here you go:

1 Comment

Filed under half marathon

One response to “Monday Musings

  1. eric

    Thank you for the photo, says your humble assistant…lol. You do indeed look like a teacher and I also want what you had for dinner It looks awesome!(even though there was no meat:D)

Leave a Reply

