My first injury

That nagging twinge in my knee I mentioned yesterday? It led to this:

I had 11 miles on the plan for today. I told myself when I woke up that if my knee hurt I wouldn’t run. It didn’t. Then I couldn’t get the Garmin turned on. I seriously considered not running. Then it turned on so I hurried out the door and got started.

The knee started to ache less than half a mile in. As I kept running it kept getting worse.

I can’t tell you how much I wanted to tough it out. Finally I told myself that I had to stop, turn around and go home.

I had over a mile to walk back. That whole time I couldn’t help wondering what this will mean for my training plan. I so hoped that my “knock on wood” statement about not missing any days except for extreme time crunch or injury was just that.

It seems like God wants to teach me though. I’m not sure what he wants to teach me or how this is going to affect my training but I need to be open to learn.

4 Comments

Filed under half marathon, Reflections

4 responses to “My first injury

  1. Injuries suck! I hope your knee feels better soon…ice, ice, and ice!

  2. UGH I hate to hear this 😦

    I hope you start to feel better soon. Google away!!

    Let me know if I need to send an emergency pack of coffee and a jar of Washington rain 😉

  3. Pingback: March is over already? « Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

