Take Back the Night 5k Recap

After a whirlwind day at school I dashed out the door as soon as I changed and made the nearly 1 hour drive out to Clemson.

This weekend I’m doing something new, staying in a hotel by myself. In an effort to run 26 races by my 26th birthday I’m running 2 5ks in Clemson. Rather than pay an arm and a leg for gas to drive out and back I decided to book a hotel even though no one could come with me.

I had no idea where I was going and managed to get turned around at every stage of the game. I went 3 miles in the wrong direction when I went to pick up the packet for Saturday’s race. Then I went a mile or so in the wrong direction trying to get to the packet pick up and start for tonight’s race. (Although the lady at the first pick up was helpful, she seriously miscounted the number of signals. She said turn at the second light but it was actually the fifth.)

I ended up arriving plenty early for the race, picked up my number and sat in my car to wait.

Take Back the Night 5k 2011

After some more waiting we were off! I decided just before we started that I would run this race for fun. I’m only 6 days out from a super tough half marathon and my legs definitely haven’t recovered. I’m so glad I did.

I didn’t worry about time as I ran. I just ran and I loved every second of it, including the hills! It’s been a long time since I’ve had a race like that. The funny thing is, I thought I was getting faster but my splits got slower each miles. (8:14, 8:22, 8:46) I also forgot to turn my garmin off at the finish, again. I don’t know what’s wrong with me. 😀

Take Back the Night 5k 2011
My happy smile!

So now I’m going to catch up on my 60 posts in Google Reader, chill and get a good night’s sleep.

3 Comments

Filed under race recaps

3 responses to “Take Back the Night 5k Recap

  1. Drew Walker

    Hey dont let the forgetting to stop your GPS bother you too much…lol I do the same thing all the time… Lack of oxygen in the brain it what I always say is my problem… 🙂 Good Luck on Your 13.1 🙂

  2. Thanks! I burst out laughing last night when I realized that I forgot again.

  3. Pingback: Clemson Easter Bunny Half Marathon Recap | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

