Pipes Confessions and Lent Lessons

Today marks the start of week 6 of #6weekpipes. I have a confession to make. I didn’t really complete weeks #4 or #5. Okay, I didn’t complete them. Week 4 I had excuses. Week 5? Not so much. I was on Spring Break. I had plenty of time. I just didn’t do any more than the first day of Week 4.

Here’s the thing. I don’t like pushups, not even a little. The workouts were never on the forefront of my mind. Most days I didn’t remember until I had either worked out or until late in the evening. I didn’t have the internal motivation to complete the challenge.

It is with great regret that I declare that I will not complete this challenge. I do not regret starting though. I have learned a lot about what motivates me in regards to fitness.

On a completely unrelated note, yesterday marked the end of Lent. Yesterday was also the first day where I started eating sweets again.

Before I get into the lessons I learned I have to confess that I did eat sweets 3 times during the Lenten season. I don’t feel guilty about it though. 2 of the times were at birthday parties where it would have been rude not to eat. The other time was when I took one of my kidstuff girls out, just to hang out. (11 year old girls aren’t generally into the get a cup of coffee and hang out thing. At least I wasn’t.)

I learned 2 things primarily.

1. Before I gave up sweets I didn’t generally eat dessert after supper. When I gave up sweets? I wanted a dessert every night. Most nights I would pour myself a small bowl of frosted mini wheats or something similar. I’m pretty sure I ended up eating a couple hundred more calories than I would normally.

2. When I did have sweets yesterday just a few tasted way too sweet. After so long without sugar my taste buds adjusted and I’m very thankful for that. I wanted to splurge on all the treats I didn’t let myself have but when it came down to it I actually turned away from an ice cream sandwich.

What will I take away from this?

I’m pretty sure I will stay away from desserts as a habit but I will enjoy it on occasion.

Leave a comment

Filed under Categories Past Their Prime, goal

Leave a Reply

