San Francisco Marathon: the expo

I have so much to say about this race that I had to split it up into 2 posts.

Although we took a leisurely morning after getting in after midnight the night before I couldn’t wait to get to the expo.

I had high expectations for this expo since it was obviously the largest I’ve ever been to. The expo did not disappoint.

I first headed in to get my bib number, sweats bag and t-shirt. Wow. Everything flowed so smoothly and on top of that I absolutely love the bag and the shirt. The bib is also now displayed prominently on my fridge right now.

I tried to take a picture of myself with my iPhone and get something in it to indicate where I was.

I didn’t do so well but at least I tried.

Mom got a better picture though.

Once Mom arrived we headed down into the main section of the expo. I couldn’t wait to try all the samples I could get my hands on, especially Clif shot blocks which I’ve heard about and wanted to try. I could feel myself getting a runner’s high as I walked through the chaos.

Then I spotted the Gu booth and the Chomps samples. Since trying the Chomps in the sampler pack I won, I’ve wanted to get more. I wanted to get more even though I had 9 other Gu gels to try. Even though we were short on time I had to get more. I couldn’t believe that I loved the Peach Tea flavor. (I hate tea.)

Even though that box says strawberry I ended up with a mixed bunch of 16. I’m super excited about it.

I left that expo super excited about the race and getting to tour San Francisco. Okay, that’s an understatement. I was beyond excited for the race.

Sightseeing was limited for the rest of the day. (Our host can’t walk very far.) However we did enjoy a wonderful late lunch on the bay.

And then walked a short ways to get some Ben & Jerry’s ice cream. (We had to. It’s a tradition since the cruise last year.)

The cone looked a little lonely though with just one scoop of ice cream. 😀

Along the way we saw a giant bread alligator,

and tried to take a self-portrait with Alcatraz in the background.

Check on the self-portrait.

Although I didn’t get in nearly as much sightseeing as I wanted to I couldn’t wait for 3:30am to come. (I know. I’m strange.)

I double and triple checked everything as I set it out so I wouldn’t forget anything. An hour is way too far to go to come back for anything.

All that was left was getting up on time and making my way into San Francisco in time for the start of the race. More to come…

Leave a comment

Filed under half marathon, marathon, race recaps, travel

Leave a Reply

