Recap: Paris Mountain 7k

I haven’t disappeared. I promise.

I actually had posts planned for Friday and yesterday. Friday I have an excuse. I had planned a Friday favorites but got sucked into trying to figure out if these memory cards I bought…

would work with my digital camcorder so we could watch video from last year’s vacation before we went on this years. (Unsuccessful)

I have no excuse for yesterday. So today instead of getting whatever I had planned I’m going to combine, in a manner of speaking, Friday and Saturday’s post.

Yesterday I ran the second race in the Paris Mountain Trail Run series this year. (Unfortunately for me I can’t run the third and final one because it takes place exactly one week after the marathon. 15k on a mountain 7 days after 26.2? No thanks.)

This was my August race. I have one race planned for September and one for October (the big one) but nothing yet for November and December. Once I get those I will be nearly assured of meeting my race in every month goal.

I almost didn’t make it to this race.

Friday night I took the time to set out all my equipment downstairs (garmin, armband, headphones iPod and etc) and my clothes upstairs with the plan of getting up at 6:45, out the door at 7:15 and at the race location by 7:45 for an 8:00 start.

Imagine my surprise when I woke up and saw 7:20 on the clock. Oops. That’s what happens when I set my alarm and forget to make sure that it’s on.

I had time for nothing besides putting all my clothes on (forgetting my headband), grabbing all my equipment and a Quaker chewy granola bar on the way out. (the only easy thing to grab)

Thankfully I did arrive at Paris Mountain State Park by 7:45 with plenty of time to park and get my bib number and to walk to the start.

I had to forgo my camelbak which I normally wouldn’t wear on such a short distance but I ended up really wanting it thanks to the humidity and the ascents and descents.

At 8:00 we were off. Before we got on the trail they had us run through one of the parking lots to spread us out so there wouldn’t be as much congestion. My complaint about that? The parking lot is a giant hill! I struggled for breath and we hadn’t even gone a quarter mile. Wow.

Thankfully things evened out fairly soon and I could just concentrate on putting one food in front of the other. Soon I fell into a good rhythm and ended up having a pretty good time. Thankfully there was only one section of “hiking” though I did get to climb over a tree that had just gotten knocked down by one of the recent storms.

I felt and looked like such a sweaty mess by the end of the race.

(It’s an iPhone pic which doesn’t do any justice to just how much a sweaty mess I was. I also had to forgo taking my camera without the camelbak for storage purposes.)

I really do love these trail races and can’t wait to do the night trail race in September. It’ll be my second time so I hope to have a faster 5k time. (I hope many of my times are faster but I guess I’m just in a “slow” period of my running.)

Since there weren’t many pictures from the race I thought I would share some of the official pictures from the San Francisco Marathon. (One of my Friday Favorites)

I actually have three of me at the finish line. They couldn’t manage to get one a little further on so I could see if I did attempt to turn my garmin off like the guy in front of me. (I noticed it on a little further.)

Serious runner time. I mean, look at our form! It’s pretty good if I say so myself.

While I don’t love my heel strike I love nearly everything else about this picture even though I didn’t see the cameraman.

I was prepared for this one thanks to everyone who cheered and waved ahead of me. I love how posed I look.

Finally, for your viewing pleasure, let’s play “guess what on earth Jeni was doing/thinking”.

I’m obviously not in front but look a little to the left and middle of the photo. Can someone please help me figure out why I turn my leg out like that? 😀

Hope you enjoyed! I’m off to find a place not interrupted with the sound of my grandpa’s giant snores. 😀

5 Comments

Filed under race recaps

5 responses to “Recap: Paris Mountain 7k

  1. Great job! I’m prod of you, girl~
    Have you signed up for A Hero’s 5k 2012 at Furman? I’d love to see you there!
    Loving you~ Mrs. W

  2. Thanks. 😀 I haven’t signed up yet because I don’t know my racing schedule for next year yet. It’s definitely high up on the list though.

  3. Do you know where we can find the photos from the trail run?

  4. I’m not sure. I don’t think there are any official pictures but if anyone took any they usually post it on the Greenville Track Club Facebook page.

  5. Pingback: Spinx Marathon Training Week 6 | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

