Friday Favorites: Bidding Summer Farewell

Today is the last weekday of my summer. I have thoroughly enjoyed it. To celebrate the last few free days I’ve been quite lazy, thus 2 days without posting. (I had ideas. :D)

There’s a reason for my absence beyond laziness; it’s number 1 in my favorites today.

1. Dr. Who 

(source)

I added this to my Netflix queue after seeing a story on the Today show months ago. I know this show has been on forever but nothing appealed to me. While I love nearly all things fantasy, science fiction has never appealed to me. (Thus the reason that I’ve seen Star Wars once or twice but Lord of the Rings more times than I can count.)

Granted, I’m a huge fan of Firefly but it’s a science fiction western. (key word: western)

A couple days ago my sister, who’s been under the weather, asked if we could watch it. Sure, why not. I’m not sure why I stuck with it because the idea of the world being threatened by plastic store mannequins (okay it was more than that) makes me laugh. Obviously I stuck with it. We’re halfway through season 2 now and I love it! (It’s also caused some extremely strange conversations between my sister and I.)

2. Coconut

Before Tuesday I said I didn’t like coconut. I’ll eat my words now.

Laura and I stopped at amanazi tea after shopping at Banana Republic. (She picked everything out; I have no fashion sense.) After much deliberation the only thing that appealed to me was the Carribean Cocoa frappe. I didn’t really pay attention to the ingredients the barista told me were in there so wasn’t surprised when I really liked it.

I offered a sip to Laura who said it was ok. but she didn’t like coconut. My jaw dropped open. I couldn’t believe that I liked coconut. This is yet another thing I’ve been missing out on.

3. Summer Vacation

My summer is nearly over. I’m checking in to school tomorrow afternoon. (!) This summer has been amazing though. I’ve gotten to do one of the things I most enjoy, travel.

I got to travel across the pond,

100_3759

100_3970

100_4117

100_4169

100_4200

100_4317

100_4404

100_4526

100_4627

100_4659

100_4723

100_4829

100_4882

minister in Ecuador and witness God’s magnificent creation,

100_4921

100_4932

100_4951

ran in (and fell in love with) San Francisco,

100_5004

100_5023

and relaxed with the family at North Myrtle Beach.

Sorry for the picture overload. I got a little carried away. 😀

I can’t wait to see what God has in store for the next chapter of my life.

2 Comments

Filed under Categories Past Their Prime, Reflections, travel

2 responses to “Friday Favorites: Bidding Summer Farewell

  1. Pingback: Spinx Marathon Training Week 9 | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

