Spinx Marathon Training Week 12

Only 5 weeks remain!

The more mind boggling thought is that I start the taper in 2 weeks.

I have to say that I got more than a little excited to be at Flour Field for the Komen Race for the Cure Saturday. I kept remembering my experience finishing in the stadium last year and thinking about what it’s going to be like to finish the marathon. Those stairs!

How did the training go last week?

Monday: 7 miles easy. Felt slow and sluggish especially on the treadmill but was able to pick it up a little bit when I finished the last 4 miles outside. I’m glad I talked myself out of cutting the run a mile short.

Tuesday: pump class. excellent mix of exercises except the last 2 I didn’t understand. I couldn’t get into the music this time either.

Wednesday: 6 x 800m with 400m jogs. great interval run and I felt strong the whole time. I think I could have pushed the intervals a little faster.

Thursday: 45 minute pump class changed to easy run. My thighs were really stiff so I thought an easy run might loosen them up. I planned 2 miles but my legs just didn’t want to do it. I stopped at 1.25 and foam rolled after. Legs felt better.

Friday: bike at gym. It was a good easy ride. Made sure to get to 10 miles

Saturday: recapped it here

Sunday: I rested just to make sure my knees were okay. (They’re fine. :D)

What’s on the plate for week 13:
Monday: 5 miles easy
Tuesday: pump class
Wednesday: 6 miles with 4 at tempo
Thursday: 45 minute pump (or easy 2 miles)
Friday: bike at gym (at least 10)
Saturday: 20 miles (eek!)
Sunday: rest or yoga

1 Comment

Filed under marathon, running

One response to “Spinx Marathon Training Week 12

  1. Pingback: Spinx Marathon Training | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

