Thankful Thursday

I may not have gotten any sub jobs at all this month but there’s still plenty I can be thankful about.

Today I’m thankful for google reader.

I’m a little slow to catch on. Many bloggers I followed mentioned “clearing out their reader” or touted the benefits of google reader. I ignored them and continued flipping through every blog I had bookmarked. Tedious.

I learned the error of my ways several months ago.

Today I’m thankful for google reader because now I know how to subscribe to a feed such as a Lebanese newspaper and don’t have to keep another tab open in my web browser. It saves a lot of time. Plus, how else would I know that an escaped monkey from the zoo in Sidon had been recovered. (I’m representing Lebanon in a simulation for one of my classes.)

Today I’m thankful for leftovers.
I mentioned these yesterday but I’m still thankful for them. 😀
It’s very nice to be able to open the fridge and pull out something for lunch or dinner.

For example, these noodles were leftover from the minestrone soup I made a few days ago. I already have a plan for how to incorporate them into another meal and leftovers.

By the way, I wasn’t kidding about that can of tomato paste.

Today I’m thankful for a mom who’s always willing to help.
For a while the only way I could print things from my computer was to email my documents to my mom. (My mac wouldn’t communicate with our printer.)

Then my sister got a printer with her new computer several months ago. Mom figured out how to hook up my computer to the printer.

I’m still a bit lazy though so sometimes I’ll email a receipt or recipe to her and ask her to print them. She’ll do it every time!

She’s the best. 😀

Today I’m thankful for the digital antenna and converter.

When we first cut cable (to be able to pay for our iPhones) we tried to soldier through using only netflix.

Not happening.

I found the digital antenna on amazon first. I hooked it up thinking I’d see something. Oops, nope. We had to get the converter too.

While we don’t get ABC (too far from the closest station) we get the other local stations and that makes me very happy.

I’m thankful for it specifically because I use the commercial breaks to get up and read. (I walk while I read.) Today I read 24 pages for my Middle East class, 50 pages of huésped (The Host and 50 pages of Republic. (only 50 to go!)

Now I’m going to make a decision about whether or not I should go to pump class tonight. I’ve been going back and forth all night since I have to go to a school function right after.

2 Comments

Filed under Thankful Thursday

2 responses to “Thankful Thursday

  1. We made our own antenna when we cut the cable — I’m thankful for it, although it’s not as sleek as yours!

  2. Thanks! It was only $20 so it was well worth it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

