Backwards and Forwards

That title took far too long to think of. 😀

Today I’m going to look back at September’s goals and present my goals for October.

Originally I had planned to post on Friday, the last day of September. When I sat down to write at 10pm I realized that I hadn’t spent any time brainstorming October’s goals. Instead of banging out half-thought out goals I decided to postpone the post.

Here’s how September shaped up:
1. Strength train 2-3 times per week.
I learned as the month went on and the marathon crept closer that this goal would have to be sacrificed since it’s very hard to run well with leg muscles already sore. I did complete at least one class every week and I have great plans for this once the marathon is done.

2. Drink 3 bottles of water a day.
While I haven’t meticulously tracked every bottle I consider this a rousing success. I’ve been so diligent with this that I even try to add an extra bottle when I drink coffee or diet Dr. Pepper.

3. Eat salad 3-4 times a week.
This has almost become habit. I’m not sure if there was ever a week where I ate it 4 times but that’s simply because the lettuce did not last that long.

4. Read 70 pages weekly for school.
I didn’t start this as soon as I should have. The past two weeks though I have made sure to read at least 10 pages a day, specifically for my History of the Middle East quota of 1200 pages this semester. I’d rate this a B-.

October’s goals

1. Finish the marathon
This should come as no surprise. This year October is Marathon Month. I want to structure all I can to make sure that I will be able to finish that marathon. Likely this means I will not complete more than one strength training session a week and I’m okay with that.

2. Read 70-100 pages a week for school.
If I want to have any semblance of a life as the semester draws to an end I need to make a steady dent in the pages I need to read. I’ll need to read more than that but it’s a start at least.

3. Eat at least one serving of fruit or vegetables at every meal.
This has been an unstated goal for a while. I did well for a while but lately it’s kind of slipped my mind. I want to make sure that I’m eating enough whole foods and properly fueling my body. (See goal #1)

4. Make schoolwork a priority.
I won’t leave this vague.
I will complete schoolwork before settling in to read blogs in the afternoon. In other words, when I look at my to do list I will prioritize items relating towards school at the top and do those first. This also applies to reading. I have a stack of books sitting, waiting to be read. The 1200 pages I mentioned above will come first.

I can’t wait to see what God will bring me this month!

1 Comment

Filed under goal

One response to “Backwards and Forwards

  1. Pingback: New in November | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

