Triple Tuesday Tangents

I thought of some really random things today. Well, not today. One of them I thought of last Thursday and actually remembered to write down.

1. Tinuviel poem
Right now I’m listening to Lord of the Rings on audiobook and this poem played. I thought back to junior high.

I don’t remember whether it was 7th or 8th grade. For some reason, I decided that I wanted to try out for the school play. Looking back I can’t remember what possessed me to do this. I was so painfully shy as a kid that even if I knew the answer to a teacher’s question I wouldn’t raise my hand. I tried never to speak in class. I don’t understand why I wanted to try out.

Be that as it may, I decided I wanted to. I had just started reading Lord of the Rings for the first time and came across the poem. I fell in love with it and decided to read it.

I didn’t get a part, thankfully. That probably had to do with all the stammering and nervous mannerisms I added to the poem.

2. Left-handed writing
I’m right-handed, always have been. Some time in junior high or high school I decided that I wanted to learn how to write with my left hand just in case I injured my right hand.

I don’t know why I thought my right hand would ever be out of commission. I was never particularly athletic.

I picked it up fairly quickly but it took a lot of practice to make the handwriting legible. (I took all my history notes with my left hand in my first semester of college and that proved a problem when I tried to study.)

I still use it sometimes when it’s more convenient to put the paper on the left side of the table or when I want to impress my students. (It’s just my kidstuff girls now.)

Lastly,
3. my old blog
I discovered this a little less than an hour ago.

I got an email from Nanowrimo. (It’s coming up soon and I might actually do it this year.) When I looked at my author profile I saw the url and couldn’t help look at what I posted.

I last posted there May 7, 2009. I don’t remember why I stopped but it was such a sense of deja-vu to look back at all the posts which include reflections on college graduation and MAT graduation and a whole bunch of book reviews. You don’t have to look but here it is: phoenix-muse

I hope to keep up with this one a little longer. 😀

Leave a comment

Filed under Triple Tangent Tuesday

Leave a Reply

