Easy eight aka last “long” run before marathon

Next week at this time I will still be running. Hopefully I will be more than halfway done. It’s almost surreal that I’ll be running a marathon this time next week.

For some reason I had a hard time getting myself going this morning. I’m fairly certain though that had to do with the cold temperature outside since I remember the same lack of “get-up-and-go” last winter. I’m not going to let it stop me though.

I did finally make it out the door and drove just a short distance to the YMCA. Since I had only 8 miles on the plan today I didn’t feel like driving all the way out to the trail.

It’s been a while since I ran today’s route. I can’t believe I trained for 3 half marathons using only that route and the treadmill. So many hills!

I conquered them all today plus I crossed that street. I’ve avoided crossing that street since March but today I decided I would cross it and by doing that I made myself cross it twice. I took more than a double take to the right the second time I crossed but it was such a thrill to conquer it.

I’m more than satisfied with my run today. I managed the most even splits I’ve ever had. (Maybe I’m figuring out this whole pacing thing after all 😉 ) and I kept up a sprint for the last .3 miles instead of my normal .2 and felt awesome. Now I just have to figure out what to do with the “extra” time I have this morning.

3 Comments

Filed under marathon

3 responses to “Easy eight aka last “long” run before marathon

  1. Next weekend…wooo hooo marathon time. I am excited for you.

  2. Pingback: Spinx Marathon Training Week 16 | Stepping Out

  3. Pingback: Spinx Marathon Training | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

