Thankful Thursdays

I had a post planned for yesterday but it’s a busy time of the school year. Case in point? History of the Middle East test tomorrow and paper for Shakespeare Monday.

That being said, I have a little bit of extra time today and I wanted to make sure I got this post written. To me November means giving thanks. I don’t think it’s a coincidence that both Thursday and Thanksgiving start with “Th”.

Today I’m thankful for an absolutely awesome run yesterday. When I woke up with legs more sore than the day after my marathon I wondered if I would have to skip the run. I got started but our internet was slow. The combination of factors made me postpone the run. I made sure to get out there right after school. The start of the run was not pretty but after a half mile my legs warmed up and I felt so strong throughout the entire run. I think part of it might have to do with my shoes but I’m going to talk about it later. On top of that my mind was going a mile a minute and I came up with several blog posts that I managed to remember until I got home.

Today I’m thankful for beautiful outdoor weather for running. After months of almost unbearable heat and then a sudden cold, snap the weather is finally perfect for running. I plan to enjoy it for as long as it’s here.

Today I’m thankful for free stuff from races. I meant to talk about this bag:

after the Paris Mountain 15k. I haven’t gotten stuff from the previous 2 in the series but REI must have donated bags to announce the grand opening of their store in our area. The bags are seriously sweet. I don’t have a specific use for it yet but I’m definitely searching for one.

Today I’m thankful for my lunar glides.

These shoes are amazing. I don’t know if it’s mental or not but I feel so much stronger when I wear them. My posture during the run yesterday was awesome and I’m almost 100% sure that they put a spring in my step during my sprint at the end of the run. The super sweet colors don’t hurt anything either.

Today I’m thankful for the holiday season.
It’s no secret that I absolutely love the holidays. The holiday season brings red cups:

family time, cooler weather, excuses for baking a lot, Christmas decorations, giving gifts to family, going to the beach, vacation (and the beach), Christmas music and many more things not coming to mind right now.

Today I’m thankful for the discovery of my long lost novel.
Once upon a time (okay 2005) I participated in nanowrimo to great success and continued that writing into December and ended up with a completed novel that I love. In the years since the hard drive on my old computer crashed and I lost all the files. No biggie. I had printed at least 3 copies before I lost it. When I realized it was gone I looked in my room to no avail. I asked my dad if I could borrow his copy to retype it. He couldn’t find it. My last resort was my grandmother in New York. I knew she had a copy. She couldn’t find it either. A couple years have passed since. My grandmother just retired last month and is moving down here. I think you know where this leads. My dad called me Monday night. All he had to say was “You’re grandmother was moving some things around…” and I knew she had found it. I am beyond thrilled! Rewriting that novel would not have yielded the same results since the circumstances are totally different. (I may get into that on another post.) Yay for retyping all 300+ pages over Christmas break! 😀

Finally, today I’m thankful for nanowrimo. I’m participating again. I’ve participated every year since 2005. The last couple years were not successful. In 2009 I finished but only because I added what nanowrimers lovingly call “word vomit” at the end. I don’t think I have a copy of it anymore. Last year I started but for the first time made the decision to walk away. I just didn’t have the structure for a good story. I really wanted success this year so I planned for it. For the past 2 months I’ve done all kinds of backstory and I’m pleased to say that things are rolling along quite nicely with the story. It’s been so long since I’ve really dedicated any time to writing that some things are rough right now but I’m regaining my mojo.

Since the word count is approaching 800 I think I’ll bring this to a close. Here’s to an excessively thankful month of Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment

Filed under Thankful Thursday

Leave a Reply

