My Happy Place

I had a completely different title in mind when I left school after my 10 o’clock class. Then I walked into Starbucks aka my happy place. I’ll get to that in a moment.

Right after class I walked over to the Alumni Association and picked up my t-shirt and bib for the race tomorrow. Since I’m going to be in New York tomorrow (and several other states before Saturday becomes Sunday) I clearly won’t be able to run this race.

It was bittersweet picking up the t-shirt and bib number, especially with numbers like these.

This is only the 2nd time time I’ve signed up for a race but not shown up. It’s actually the first time that I picked up the packet and t-shirt for a race I wasn’t going to run. (That first time I just didn’t feel like running the race. Clearly, that was before I became addicted.)

I’m tempted to pin the bib on my shirt tomorrow when I run on the hotel treadmill but obviously it’s not the same. I’m still not sure what I’m going to do with the bib. The only reason I picked anything up was for the t-shirt. The shirt last year is one of my favorites and I think I’ll like this one too.

I walked into Starbucks with the above thoughts on my mind. Then I got really excited. It’s a little embarrassing how excited I got. I instantly wished I had this little thing called money.

The reason? I didn’t have to wait until after Thanksgiving for all that Starbucks offers for Christmas. I didn’t hesitate to snap up my red cup on the first day. I’m not waiting for Christmas day this time. (Sorry Dad.)

(That’s not my cup. By the time I took the picture mine was already paid for, wrapped and placed in a bag.)

That’s not to say that I won’t be asking for anything from Starbucks for Christmas:

and especially this ornament (hint, hint, Dad)

Plus, they’re playing Christmas music! Could it get any better?

I’m off to bang out as close to 6000 words for nanowrimo (yes I’m insane) before heading off to History of the Middle East with the hopes of a silly string attack free class period.

Leave a comment

Filed under Categories Past Their Prime, race recaps

Leave a Reply

