2nd Annual Turkey Trot

I’m typing this post in the few minutes I have before we drive up to NC for Thanksgiving dinner. By the time we decided what we were going to do for Thanksgiving I had already signed up for the race. There was no way I was going to not do this race.

I am so glad that I did. I love the idea of being active with several hundred of my friends on a day normally dedicated to overeating and lounging watching football.

This time I had company; Mom came with me. (Last year she had just had surgery on her knee.)

We arrived when we were supposed to (before the course closed) but the traffic was ridiculous. The race planners did not plan for an easy way to park the other hundred or so cars once the original parking lot filled so everything slowed to a stop half a mile down from the start while everyone funneled into a parking garage. The race started 10 minutes late because of that.

Thankfully, that’s the only negative thing I have to say about the race.

We made our way to the start and I waded into the crowd.

(No, I don’t know how to pin my bib on straight.)

Going into the race I had 3 goals since I’m just gradually getting my speed back.
1st goal: sub 9 minute pace (45 min)
2nd goal: sub 44 minutes
3rd (reach) goal: sub 43:10 (aka a PR)

I figured that the PR was out of reach but if I could get it I would try.

The whole race was amazing especially since it’s not easy. The entire course is rolling hills.

I pushed the pace the entire time and felt absolutely amazing. I felt alive. I fell in love with running all over again.

The finally straightaway came. I glanced down at my garmin and saw that I had 3 minutes left to make it before my PR. (it was actually 4. Apparently I can’t do math while running.) I started the sprint.

I checked my watch a tenth or so later and realized I still had 3 minutes. 😀 I knew a PR was in grasp so I pushed as hard as I possibly could. Sprinting makes for great pictures.

TreesGreenville Turkey Day 8k 2011
TreesGreenville Turkey Day 8k 2011

42:27!!!!!!!!

I was on cloud 9, so happy, so thrilled. I am so beyond excited about getting my speed back. I’m definitely gunning for that 5k PR on December 17.

TreesGreenville Turkey Day 8k 2011
Gotta go! Thanksgiving dinner awaits!

3 Comments

Filed under race recaps

3 responses to “2nd Annual Turkey Trot

  1. Pingback: Run Resolved Half Marathon Training Week 3 | Stepping Out

  2. Pingback: A Tale of Tennis Shoes | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

