Running Lately

Normally I would have a long run to recap on Saturdays. I have a hard time calling 8 miles a “long” run now, especially since I ran 7 miles on Wednesday. 😀

Instead I want to talk briefly about how the 4 days of running have gone this week.

It’s weird to run fast now. I was in marathon training for so long it was almost as if I had given up all thoughts of speed except for the desire to get it back.

For the 2 or 3 weeks after the marathon speed was hard to come by and then this week came and all the sudden it returned.

Here are my average speeds for the week:
Monday: speed work…at least sub 10
Wednesday: 9:14
Thursday: 8:26
Saturday: 9:23

Today’s speed surprised me. I set out planning to take it easy since I’d already had 2 pretty speedy runs. I didn’t feel like I was pushing it at all and yet I achieved that result.

I love it. Every time I get out and run I fall in love with running even more. I’m so excited about what this means for future races.

There are several reasons for the speed increase. It could be that my body’s thanking me for relieving it from marathon training. The speed work also contributed. Finally, I’m sure part of it also comes from the fact that I know I can run fast now so I push myself a little farther.
Running is such a mental sport. 😀

2 Comments

Filed under running

2 responses to “Running Lately

  1. Pingback: I conquered the mountain!–Paris Mtn 20k | Stepping Out

  2. Pingback: Thankful Thursday Part 1 | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

