The Year of Yes–2011 in Review

Before I look back at my 11 goals from this year I wanted to show this, something I found in my wallet a few months ago.

Can you see #3? I wrote this top 10 list back in the summer of 2006 before I started running. I find it absolutely amazing that I wanted to run the Boston marathon or even knew what it was really. That’s still a bucket list goal. Taking dance lessons? Not so much.

I find it incredibly cool to be able to look back at the goals I set out for myself last year and to see how I’ve changed as a result of them or despite them. So how did I do? I’ll recap them in the same order that I originally posted them.

11. Travel A+
I traveled to the Lake District, London, Warwick, Stonehenge, Canterbury, Paris , Ecuador, San Francisco, North Myrtle Beach and Hilton Head Island.
I consider myself very blessed to have been able to travel so much this year and hope that I’ll be able to travel just a little this coming year.

10. Visit 1 new baseball park. D
I tried. I really did but it didn’t work out. Thankfully plans are in the work to visit 3 new parks next summer. (So excited!)

9. Run a marathon A++++++++
Running the Spinx Marathon and training for it was incredible and definitely life changing. I’ve already registered for my second, Savannah Rock n Roll next November and have tentative plans for a ultra. (eek!)

8. Run at least 1 race a month A++++
I think I could pay for another of my Master’s classes, almost, with the money that I’ve spend on races but I wouldn’t take back a penny.

7. Run 1000 miles in the year. (Changed a little later to 750.) A+
After running the marathon I realized that I love higher mileage which I have kept up. Remarkably I’ve gotten almost to 950. I can’t wait to see what 2012 brings.

6. Try at least one new type of exercise. A+
I did yoga during the first week of the year. Not only that but I’ve almost made it a habit.

5. Make 1 new recipe from each cookbook per month. C-
I really tried at the beginning of the year but after a certain point I just really didn’t follow through. I didn’t stop cooking through. I still made meals just not as many and not with as much variety.

4. Give up meat. B-
Throughout the year I’ve gone from absolutely avoiding it to being okays with eating meat on occasion. What this year taught me was that I don’t want to absolutely give up meat. That’s impractical. Instead I would characterize my diet as one that’s primarily vegetarian though I will eat meat on occasion.

3. Learn how to eat intuitively. B+
This has been an up and down journey throughout the year but recently things have started to make more sense on this front. Over the past month and a half I’ve been putting serious effort into paying attention to my hunger levels and eating when I’m hungry rather than according to schedule. It seems to be paying off.

2. Take a photography class or somehow study photography. F
This did not happen and I had a feeling that it wouldn’t even when I made the goal. It was wishful thinking for sure.

1. Try at least 1 new thing per week. A+++++++
Some weeks I tried far more things than others but I purposefully decided to say yes to things that came my way and have tried all kinds of new things and have loved almost all of those things.

This year has been absolutely amazing. I’m so excited to see what 2012 will brings. I will post my goals (and yes, there are 12 but I’ll explain why then) on Sunday.

4 Comments

Filed under goal

4 responses to “The Year of Yes–2011 in Review

  1. Maybe even 4 new ball parks.

    Very proud of you for doing so well on reaching your goals.

    2012 looks to be a great year.

    Love ya,

    Dad

  2. I need your contact info…email or something…twitter handle? I have prizes for you 🙂

  3. Pingback: 2012–Go a Little Bit Farther | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

