2012–Go a Little Bit Farther

If 2011 was the year of yes then 2012 is the year to go a little bit farther. I want to keep trying new things but this year I discovered a few things that I love to do and want to pursue them.

I had 11 for 2011 and thought about lowering the number of goals just to simplify. However, when I looked back at my goals I saw that I did pretty well.

So, since my favorite number is 12, I knew I had to have 12 goals for 2012.

I’ve divided the goals into 3 areas: fitness, academics, personal.

Fitness:
1. Learn how to swim
I know how to swim just not well. There’s a small part of me that wants to try a sprint or olympic triathlon. The only thing stopping me is swimming. If completing a tri in 2013 is a potential goal, I need to gain more swimming confidence. I will make sure that I take advantage of the pool on campus.

<strong2. Obtain all Nike Training Club Rewards
My fitness regimen has been light on strength training lately. I want to fix that. Recently, I discovered the Nike Training Club app. I love accessibility on my phone plus the level of difficulty. In order to get all of the workout rewards the app gives (tops out at 4000 minutes) I need to complete at least 1.25 hours a week. Right now the plan is 15 minutes on Sundays, and 30 minutes on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

3. Run at least 1250 miles (reach goal of 1500)
I finished the year with a total of 924.80 miles. (So close to a nice round number :D), only 75 miles short of my original goal.

I learned that I love running at least 20 miles a week (or more) so I plan to keep that up. However, I don’t want to set the bar too high which is while my goal will stand at 1250 miles. Unless injury intercedes, I will aim for 1500.

4. Run at least one 10+ mile race each month.
I love the half marathon distance so much more than 5ks. Since I got my 5k PR I want to focus on half marathons or longer aka going a little farther than one race a month. I already have 8 of 12 scheduled.

Academics
5. Study Portuguese daily. (or at least as close as I can)
In order to pursue a doctorate in Latin American history I need proficiency in Spanish and Portuguese. I know Spanish which leaves Portuguese. I have a few things I can use until I shell out the money for Rosetta stone…

6. Continue working on Spanish.
I’m not sure what this will look like. Until I decide I will continue to plow through my stack of books in Spanish. Harry Potter is just as entertaining in Spanish as English.

7. Spend quality time researching my thesis topic.
This will start in May after the spring semester. It’s a resolution because I have to put in the time and not just next spring semester if I want to do well.

8. Research and start studying for the GRE.
I didn’t have to take this for either Master’s. I do for the doctorate. I’ll take it early 2013 (probably). Thus, I need to start studying in 2012.

Personal
9. Take at least 1 picture every day.
I learned my lesson with the photography class thing. Instead I want to make taking pictures a habit. With that in mind I’ve decided to join the 365 project. I haven’t uploaded any photos yet or edited my profile but I will.

10. Read for fun every day.
I’ve talked about how much I love reading. Last year I didn’t read as much as I wanted for a number of reasons. I want to set aside at least 10 minutes every day to read something not required for school.

11. Cook at least 2 full meals each month.
I set myself up for failure last year. I still want to cook though so I think this goal is more manageable.

12. Frequent at least 1 new restaurant per month.
Dad and I have tried to do this for two years. We’ve missed a few months. I don’t want to miss any more.

If you made it to the end, congratulations. With God’s help I hope to mark an A by each of these goals come December 2012.

Leave a comment

Filed under goal

Leave a Reply

