Weekly Roundup–February 27-March 4

I wondered when the streak of amazing training weeks would end. This week answered that question. Honestly though, I’m breathing a sigh of relief. This means I’m normal…at least that I’m a normal runner.

Most of my runs this week were hard and a little slower than my more recent averages. As I reflect on the workouts I’m fairly certain that it was a combination of recovering from a head cold and my body’s need for a drastic cut back week. It’s been a while.

With all that said, here’s how the individual workouts went.

Monday 6 x 800m at 5k pace easy recovery run
I knew that speedwork was not what my body wanted after sitting around all day Sunday shaking off the head cold. I’m glad I got out and ran though.

Tuesday stationary bike warm up + Nike Training Club
I pushed through the workout. (The gym has a totally different vibe at noon than 7.) I had to switch out more exercises than I wanted (mostly because I don’t like them…) but it was still good. I really like walking lunges.

Wednesday 7 miles
This wasn’t the easiest treadmill run but I’m glad I I stuck through it. The hardest part was my breathing. I guess I do breathe through my nose a little when I run. (Not that day though.) It seemed to take forever but I eventually got it done.

Thursday 7 miles(am) + Nike Training Club
AM–The whole run felt very hard. The best way to describe it would be to say that I’ve lost all the fitness I’ve gained or I’m coming back after a long break. It’s still a bit baffling because I haven’t taken a break. As I said before it’s probably a combination of getting over the head cold, the unwelcome humidity (that day) and my body adjusting to higher mileage. I’m still not sure though.
PM–This was a total endorphin rush! I felt so strong and fit throughout the whole thing which went by like a blur. It was exactly what I needed after that morning’s run. (Plus, I passed 1000 minutes! …aka how many minutes I’ve used it for :D)

Friday stationary bike at gym
I felt really strong the whole time and loved pushing it. (I think starting with Thursday’s NTC workout I started to get my workout mojo back.)

Saturday 10 miles
I’m so glad the rain decided not to come. I did not want to run 10 miles on the treadmill. (I don’t think I’m that mentally tough yet. :D) I’m definitely getting the race urge back…so wanted to be part of the Reedy Run.

Sunday 15 minutes NTC
After two weeks off I finally got around to it. My head wasn’t into it though; it was a good, but not great, workout.

I’m glad things started looking up at the end of the week. Makes me feel more hopeful for the Greenwood Half on the 24th.

Leave a comment

Filed under Weekly Roundup

Leave a Reply

