14 miles–My first “official” New River Marathon long run

Today I head out to the Swamp Rabbit Trail to tackle my first truly long run. (Since my first marathon training cycle anything less than a half marathon no longer seems long.)

I’d planned this run even before I decided to switch to the New River Marathon. It took on a whole other feel after it became a marathon training run.

Another factor that made this run feel very similar to marathon long runs, the camelbak.

(Yes, this is a bit out of order. Also, please excuse the rat’s nest aka my hair. Can you believe it looked even worse 4 miles earlier? Trust me. It did.)

I wasn’t sure last night whether I would wear the camelbak. I haven’t worn it on my recent half marathons and this run was only .9 miles longer. Ultimately, the 70-90% humidity sealed the deal.

When I started running this morning all the old, familiar doubts filled my head. I had settled into my stride quickly and easily but it felt so slow. I doubted my decision to run the New River Marathon. I also felt strongly tempted to look at my Garmin and confirm my lack of speed. I didn’t.

I knew that if I saw my slower speed the doubts would become even stronger. Instead I started thinking about whether I liked speed or distance better. I’ll save you the debate that occupied my mind for a mile or two but this did the trick. I distracted myself and managed to block out the negative thoughts.

The next challenge came in the form of the hills in Falls Park. After running through Falls Park a couple times on long runs I tried to avoid it if possible. I didn’t do myself any favors. The hills on the Spinx course did a number on my legs. I don’t want to make the same mistake again.

Screen Shot 2012-03-12 at 5.03.36 PM
Remember this little “hill”?

When I got down I saw some of the St. Patty’s Day 5k runners but this time I didn’t feel any race envy. I’d considered running this race but as soon as I decided to run the marathon all long runs became crucial.

Those “hills”? Sure they were there but I felt a lot stronger powering up them this time than last fall.

The rest of the run was a breeze, including my brief detour into the Swamp Rabbit Cafe and Grocery. (I think this place is awesome…I just wish they opened a little earlier.)

I finished, sweaty and happy. I knew my pace was much slower than last week’s half marathon but with all thing’s considered that didn’t matter. I had already decided against comparing marathon long runs to my winter long runs. Instead, I decided to compare the long runs of this cycle to the ones from last fall.

Take a look at this:

My first 14 miles (August 27)
Screen Shot 2012-03-17 at 11.44.53 AM

Today
Screen Shot 2012-03-17 at 11.45.34 AM

I would consider that a rousing success. 😀
Up next? Greenwood Half Marathon (yay!)

3 Comments

Filed under marathon

3 responses to “14 miles–My first “official” New River Marathon long run

  1. Pingback: New River Marathon Week 2 | Stepping Out

  2. Pingback: New River Marathon Training | Stepping Out

  3. Pingback: 14 Miles–Prelude to a Marathon | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

