Mountain Assault Take 2–18 mile edition

I headed up Paris Mountain again today. This time I ran the additional miles (besides the 10 that cover the distance between my car and the summit) before heading up the mountain rather than after like last time.

Two weeks ago I tacked the miles on after to see how my legs would feel running that distance after going up the mountain. Today I wanted to see how my legs would feel with 8-10 miles under them before heading up the mountain.

I hope my legs aren’t as tired in three weeks (eek!) as they were today. When will I learn to not to complete an advanced Nike Training Club workout two days before? 😀 I don’t think it was solely due to the workout though. I asked (unknowingly) a lot of my legs last Saturday.

The run started great. The flat Swamp Rabbit Trail is great for confidence boosts. 😀 Around mile 7 the run started to get tough. I knew my pace was slowing and I wondered how I would feel once I got to the mountain.

It was just as tough as I imagined. I had to walk a lot more this time heading up the mountain. When I had to walk fairly quickly once I got onto Altamont I doubted that I would be able to make it to the top. I felt almost defeated. I didn’t want to stay there. I decided that I would make it to the summit no matter how long it took me to get to the top or how many times I had to walk.

It didn’t get any easier but it did get done. The feeling of accomplishment once I got to the top beat out all desire for speed.

Going back down the hill wasn’t any easier. That steep of a decline is not gentle on the hips or feet or … well, you get the picture. I felt much more confident then though, especially since by the time I got to the bottom of the mountain I had just a little over 2 miles remaining.

Somehow I even managed to get my last mile under 9 minutes…8:49.

I am absolutely thrilled with this run. (I might not be as thrilled tomorrow when the real DOMS kicks in. :D) Not only did I conquer the mountain a second time this training cycle but I also think I figured out a rough pacing plan for the marathon. (I’ll get to that on Monday in the weekly training recap.)

Just for kicks here are the splits from today and the only other 18 miler I’ve ever run. (it’s short because I accidentally stopped the Garmin for a few tenths)

Back in September 2011
Screen Shot 2012-04-14 at 11.20.20 AM

Today
Screen Shot 2012-04-14 at 11.18.58 AM

Happy and finished 😀
Untitled

Next week? Greer Half Marathon plus an additional 7 miles after for an untraditional 20 miler.

2 Comments

Filed under marathon

2 responses to “Mountain Assault Take 2–18 mile edition

  1. Pingback: New River Marathon Training | Stepping Out

  2. Pingback: New River Marathon Week 6 | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

