Greer Earth Day Run Half Marathon (and then some)

While not ideal, I’m glad that I ended up running this race as part of my only 20 miler of New River Marathon training. I learned a lot about myself as a runner and some things that will help me in two weeks. (eek!)

Before I begin I want to say that I thoroughly support the Greenville Track Club and all the races it puts on. As with any growing organization kinks happen. I’m going to mention just a few throughout the recap but with constructive criticism in mind.

First, this is just an observation. I am thrilled that we received tech-Ts this year. The design is great. The one problem I have with it is the color and texture of the material. While I’ll still use the shirt, I’m not entirely confortable with the white which when wet (sweaty) allows the color of a sports bra to be seen.

Back to the race…

This morning Mom and I headed over to the start.
Untitled
(Yes, I know all my start pictures look alike.)

Although I understand why the start was delayed it wasn’t ideal. Neither was the starting location. Since we ran through the intersection where the start was last year I’m not sure why it was pushed back almost a tenth of a mile. The course ended up being long so changing the starting line back would have helped that.

At 7:20 we were off! My intentions were to run a smart race and not exhaust myself so that I would still have enough in the tank for the 7 miles I planned to tack on after. (Spoiler alert: I didn’t do so well with this.)

I tried to keep my pace steady as we wound our way through downtown Greer and out onto the highway. Since I didn’t bring my camelbak (spoiler: bad idea) I took water starting at the second water stop. While the temps were fine, the humidity level was not.

I actually got to chat with a couple people during the early miles which was cool. What was not cool was me totally spacing on getting their names. Whoops.

(One minor note: by the time I got to the third water stop they were completely out. On a day like today…not cool. Thankfully all the other water stops were fully stocked.)

Once I passed the half way point I still felt strong and kept powering up the small rolling hills throughout the course. I even started to pass people. In hindsight I should have been kinder to myself and dropped to a slower pace.

Finally the end was near.
Untitled
(turning the corner)

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I have to say that I was very disappointed in the finish. Instead of keeping the awesome, slightly downhill, finish down Poinsett(?) and into the entrance to the park we finished on the back side of the park with an uphill right at the end. Please go back to the old finish!

Since I would be adding more miles I photographed my finishing time.
Untitled

Yeah, the course was way long. This didn’t phase me much since I was adding miles anyway. For a first timer or someone gunning for a PR? Not so much.

One other thing that bothered me was the medal handout. I nearly missed the guy handing them out because (1) there were so many non runners beyond the finish line and (2) the medals were still in the packages.

Untitled
(with the medal)

Even with the above negatives, I thoroughly enjoyed this race and am planning on doing it again next year so I can finally go sub 2 hours on the course.

Once I finished I headed back closer to home to add 6.6 more miles to get to 20. Not only did I make the mistake of not bringing my camelbak but I also forgot to grab a package of Sharkies I was going to use as fuel. (I still had 4 Gu chomps.)

Going up the hills was not pretty. I was okay with walking through and made it to a gas station where I bought a Gatorade. Wise idea. I’m pretty sure I was very dehydrated at that point. Afterwards I felt so much better and stronger and relieved when I finally finished.

This 20 miler was tough but I’m amazed to see how far I’ve come. Here are the splits from my two 20 milers of Spinx Marathon training.
Screen Shot 2012-04-21 at 1.06.47 PM

Screen Shot 2012-04-21 at 1.07.16 PM

Screen Shot 2012-04-21 at 12.54.18 PM
9:20 average pace! (9:07 for the half alone)

I am so thrilled! Of course, a hard run deserves chocolate milk.
Untitled

Up next? Two weeks until New River Marathon!!!!

18 Comments

Filed under marathon

18 responses to “Greer Earth Day Run Half Marathon (and then some)

  1. Pingback: New River Marathon Training | Stepping Out

  2. Good Write up Jeni… I ran today also and totally agree with all the comments you made….. Im not sure…maybe I overlooked it…. but I dont see your results on the GoGreenEvents Official Results page…. Here’s the link….http://go-greenevents.com/resultsdetail/id/588 Maybe you are listed under another name…But just though I would bring that to your attention… Scott with GoGreen’s email is scott@go-greenevents.com Just in case you dont find your name/time in the results… If you email scott he will fix it for you…. Again.. Good writeup.. I didnt like the uphill finish either and also… I dont like 13.1 courses being longer… The course today was 13.5 and I asked Ed hughes about it..he said the Volunteers directed the 13.1 runners onto a short loop that was only for the 10k… So maybe that’s why it was long…. Im like you though.. I ran it in 2010 and 2011 and I like the old start and ending better…

    • Thanks!
      I noticed that my results weren’t listed in the official results either. I’m planning on emailing Scott soon.
      That’s too bad about the misdirection. I wondered about that at the beginning since we weren’t supposed to have a water stop until 1.5 and the first stop was at .5. That’s probably where the extra loop was.

  3. Wow, that’s an awesome improvement! Great race! Yea they completely changed the 10K course from what was on the website so instead of the second loop being slightly different it was the exact same 5K course again! The mile 4 water station in the 10K ran out of water which was super frustrating considering how badly I needed it at that point. And I absolutely agree with you on the start and finish line location, it needs to be moved back to where they were last year! Still a great race but last year was so much better in my opinion.

    • Thanks for the kind words! I think they ended up with a lot more people registered for all the races than they expected and had to scramble. The changes (besides the start and finish) to the half were great…much more scenic than last year. Hopefully next year will be much better.

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. Bo

    Great job Jeni! And you are not being critical with your comments. I too ran outta water and was disapointed at that aid station. I also thought the course to be very tough. Greer is part of my daily runs, as I live here. I thought surely there is enough streets to take some of these hills out. I have been reading your blogs since I learned of the Greenwood deal. You were standing right in front of Tiana and I until they announced the 20 minute delay. See you out there, and happy running!

    • So cool! For some reason I don’t recognize runners that I know online (facebook and dailymile) when I see them in real life. Whoops… πŸ˜€ Give me a shout next time and I’ll turn around πŸ˜€

  5. Saw you at the finish. Gave you a shout but I’m guessing you didn’t hear me. (At least I hope that’s the case!)

    I did the 10k and loved it. The Track club usually does a pretty good job but I’ll admit it was odd to be delayed as much as it was. The 10k got off 20 minutes late.

    That said, TOTAL blast and was nice to see you. Good job!

    • Totally missed you! I think the delay stemmed from a late influx of a lot of runners…more than 1.2k total! They wanted to avoid congestion at the finish. Thanks for the kind words!

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. Great write up, Fortunately I did have my camelback…my wife and I did the New River marathon last year, it is a beautiful course. This year we are doing the half…

  7. Pingback: New River Marathon Week 7 | Stepping Out

  8. Great job!!! Really impressed with your ‘extra’ mileage πŸ™‚

  9. That is a super solid race time as part of a 20-miler. I have been wondering what this race would be like with a new course. I am not even sure why they changed it?! I was hoping they would take out some of the hills by the airport? Sounds like they didn’t though. Nice job on the race…maybe one of these days we will both do the same one! Stinks that the weather got cool the day AFTER this long run/race!

    • The weather thing is kind of hilarious. It was super hot last year too when it was two weeks earlier and after a cold winter (according to Greenville standards) I did enjoy most of the middle of the course changes…much prettier to look at. The start/finish changes baffle me. Oh well… πŸ˜€ Can’t we both run the same race πŸ˜€ Maybe after triathlon season? πŸ™‚

  10. Pingback: Twenty Miles is Never Easy | Stepping Out

  11. Pingback: Twenty Speedy Miles – Almost Time for Taper | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

