Twelve on the Twelfth

One week out from the marathon and I’m finally feeling almost back to normal.

I headed out to the trail ready to run, albeit a little on the sleepy side. (I got in late last night after seeing Avengers. Amazing!)

I felt like I was running really fast and expected my pace to show that. (It didn’t. I felt like I was running 8:40ish but it was actually 9:14.) I tried to slow down but couldn’t really. Since I didn’t want to mess too much with my stride I just decided to run.

The day was perfect for a run. Temps were in the low sixties with just a few sprinkles. The cloud cover also kept the sun brining more intense heat.

On the way back I started to get thirsty. I chose not to bring my camelbak with me. While I was okay, I should probably err on the safe side during the summer.

Overall, I felt completely in love with running. Now that I have two marathons under my belt I feel like I can really call myself a marathoner. (Ironically, my mind started thinking about what it would be like to complete an Ironman. It may be many years but I’m not sure I’ll be able to keep that from getting on the bucket list.)

Speaking of the marathon, the official race photos are now up. I’ve been blessed with some good ones and some awkward ones. This is a first though. For a couple I actually burst out laughing.

Screen Shot 2012-05-12 at 10.36.47 AM
Mile 10..nice and happy.

Screen Shot 2012-05-12 at 10.41.10 AM
Look! I’m not stopping my Garmin!

Screen Shot 2012-05-12 at 10.41.33 AM
No wonder my back/shoulders were tight.

Screen Shot 2012-05-12 at 10.42.08 AM
No words.

1 Comment

Filed under marathon

One response to “Twelve on the Twelfth

  1. Pingback: New River Marathon Recovery | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

