Sunrise Run 8k

This race has been on my race calendar since I figured out that I couldn’t run it last year due to being in the UK. (Oh how I wish I could go back!)

Now I can say that I have run all of the Greenville Track Club sponsored races.

Even up until arriving at the course this morning I didn’t have very high expectations for my performance. I listed all the possible excuses I could to myself. (For example, I haven’t done a speedwork session in a little over a month.) I told myself that I would be happy with a sub 45:00 finish.

Then I lined up at the start and remembered that #RWRunStreak mile I ran yesterday. With ease I covered a mile in 7:36. As soon as I remembered that I decided that I was really going to race.

Untitled

When the air horn went off (or attempted to at least) I headed out determined to push the pace as hard as I could without constantly checking my Garmin to see if I was on pace.

One thing I did not expect was the large number of runners. With no corrals, even informal, set up this caused a good bit of weaving around slower runners. (No doubt that’s the reason I logged 5.04 for the race.)

Throughout the race I picked out runners just a little ahead of me to try to keep up with and if I could pass them.

While there were a few rolling hills along the way, this course was fairly easy.

When my Garmin beeped to mark mile 4 I could hardly believe it. I knew how much of the course remained as I went along but mile 4 still surprised me. I knew my pace had been fast and did not know if I could get any faster but I tried. Somehow I managed to eek out a 7:51 last mile. I kept telling myself to leave it all on the course and I certainly felt like I might leave what little I ate for breakfast on the course.

Instead of discouraging me, this encouraged me because I knew that I was pushing. I did look at my Garmin at mile 4.7. When I saw that I had 4 minutes to finish and still PR I tried to go even faster.

As I came around the corner Mom almost missed me since I was coming in so much earlier than I’d told her. The downhill finish was excellent!

Untitled
(I’m not sure what’s up with my form there. Some of the pictures from last week looked like that too. …)

Untitled

Untitled
(Now that form I like!)

Untitled
Sweaty and done!

Final result?
Untitled
That just happens to be a PR of 1 minute 16 seconds!

I am on cloud nine right now. This race was such a confidence booster. Wow. I am excited to see how actual speedwork will improve my running. Thoughts of a sub 4 hour marathon in November are dancing in my head right now. I’m not making any plans right now but … 😀

What’s coming up next? The next race on my schedule is the Red, White and Blue Shoes 5k. Since many family members are also running that I’m not sure if I’m going to race it or just run with them. The thought of a 5k PR on my birthday is tempting though. 😉

6 Comments

Filed under race recaps

6 responses to “Sunrise Run 8k

  1. Darin M

    RWBS is a PR-friendly course! Your family will understand if you go for it!

    Congrats on your PR today! No PR for me but its my 2nd year running the Sunrise Run and I love the event and the course.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Roundup–June 3-10 | Stepping Out

  3. Great job! Way to be speedy! I am thinking about the Red, White and Blue Shoes 5k too! I haven’t signed up yet though! I will definitely be on the lookout for you if I run it!! Would love to say hi!

Leave a Reply

