Savannah Rock n Roll Marathon Training Week 2

To say that this week of training did not go as planned would be a severe understatement.
As I mentioned Saturday a back injury has temporarily derailed training for my third marathon.

Once I finally recover I will take time to reevaluate my goals for this marathon. I will be sure to post it here as soon as I do.

Honestly? I’m a little nervous that I’ll never be able to run the way I did before. I realized this morning though that I cannot fixate on that. Instead I need to rely on God. He will direct my path.

Monday 6 miles fartlek
I tried to go faster than the week before. Since I couldn’t remember what I had done I ended up covering the same distance in the same time. (My back had felt a little odd that morning like the Sunday before but I didn’t pay attention to it. Bad move.)

Tuesday 1 mile + stationary bike warm up + Nike Training Club
My back felt slightly off during the run but since it didn’t seem to interfere I didn’t pay any attention to it.
Here’s what I wrote after the NTC workout on dailymile: “It slowed me down a little during the NTC workout. For the past three days the back’s been annoying in the morning but I completely forget about it for the rest of the day. Today, I don’t think that’s going to be the case. I tried to “stretch” it at the end. Bad idea. I don’t think it’s an injury but I’m going to take it easy for the rest of the day just in case.”
That was desperate optimism. Tuesday was a day full of back pain.

Wednesday 7 1 mile
I’ll continue to quote from my dailymile account.
“It’s not debilitating pain but it’s more than annoying. I’m not sure how to describe it. I told myself I would try running because some light jogging yesterday just to see how I felt actually made me feel better. I didn’t get my 7 miles in this morning. My back didn’t hurt while I ran but it didn’t feel good either. I know cutting it short was the right thing to do but I’m very annoyed at it. I spent the rest of the hour I would have been running researching and stretching. Surprisingly, my back feels almost normal right now. I’m still going to be smart today and keep the mileage down for the week but I don’t think it’s anything serious.” (Still being optimistic.)

Thursday 6 1 mile + Nike Training Club
My back felt better than Tuesday and Wednesday but not completely whole. That morning it felt weak and tired but it didn’t hurt. My gait felt weird. (This worries me the most.) I was still cautiously optimistic about a “long” run.

Friday 1 mile + stationary bike
During the mile I tried to make sure to run with proper poster anticipating any sign of discomfort. None came! My pace was slower and I obsessed about my posture.
This ride felt wonderful. I pushed hard and loved it! It was cathartic to get in a good, solid workout. Plus, I ran to my car afterwards and felt completely normal. I’m not sure why that normal feeling didn’t extend to my long run. Maybe I was more warmed up?

Saturday 14 10 6 miles
The run was not pretty at all. The lesson was hard to learn but definitely necessary.

Sunday Rest
The first day of my self-imposed rest day went well. Several times I thought about trying it because my back felt so normal but I resisted.

1 Comment

Filed under marathon

One response to “Savannah Rock n Roll Marathon Training Week 2

  1. Pingback: Savannah Rock n Roll Marathon Training | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

