12 Miles Revisited

Today I attempted (and completed) my first double digit run post back injury.

Since I’m becoming a smarter runner I took that fact into account as well as the weather. Unless you’ve been living under a rock lately you should know that the weather on the east coast is far too warm.

In the end, the heat is what slowed me down.
Untitled

I’m pretty sure that I’ve never run in temperatures that high. I’m definitely sure that I’ve never run double digits in temperatures that high.

While my pace and total time was significantly slower than two weeks ago I’m okay with that. I’m thankful that I was able to get out and run. I’m thankful that I was able to run well considering the circumstances.

As a side note, I don’t think I have ever seen more people (walkers, runners and cyclists) out on the Swamp Rabbit Trail, ever. I know there are some crazy runners in Greenville but I had no idea there were that many. 🙂

Finally, I took the time on the run to reevaluate my goals for Savannah. I realized this week that because my training cycle was so long (19 weeks) that this set back did not derail my plan.

Before I started my run this morning I made some adjustments to the July portion of my schedule to accommodate a smart build up in mileage and my California trip at the end of the month.

The goals I laid out here still stand. Through smart training I know I can run at least a 4:15:xx marathon. My reach goal remains a sub 4:10:xx marathon.

Up next? Red, White and Blue Shoes 5k on Wednesday (aka my birthday) with my family. So excited!

9 Comments

Filed under marathon

9 responses to “12 Miles Revisited

  1. Pingback: Savannah Rock n Roll Marathon Training | Stepping Out

  2. Kelly Weekes

    Saw you twice today…let me know if you ever want to do a long run with our small little group…9:40ish long run pace. Usually 6:00am on Saturdays.

  3. Kelly Weekes

    Oops forgot…I am also training for Savannah after my Chicago run at the end of July. My goal time is similar to yours as well.

    • Thanks for letting me know! There are quite a few Greenville runners heading to Savannah this year. 🙂 I’ll definitely let you know if I can make it to run with you guys. I’m heading to California in a couple weeks but hopefully things will calm down after that. 🙂

      Sent from my iPad

  4. Hi! I was considering the Spinx marathon this year and see it runs thru swamp rabbit trail…I’m in NC so I’ve never been there; what’s the trail like? I’m digging your blog by the way! :~)

    • Thank you so much! I actually ran Spinx last year as my first marathon. I loved it. The Swamp Rabbit portions are very flat (less than 200ft elevation change) but the middle section in the Green Valley area is fairly hilly, nothing outrageous but it surprised me. The finish can’t be beat. You enter Flour Field (the park for our AAA baseball team) on the warning track behind left field, run around the park and finish by crossing home plate. It’s also the 40th anniversary of the Greenville Track Club and since Spinx is its marquee event I know there will be some extra special stuff planned. Hope this helps!

      Sent from my iPad

      • Thank you! It does help tons. I may do it! I originally wanted to run the OBX marathon but I’m thinking the overall expenses (I.e. travel, hotel, ect) is going to be too much. Greenville is much closer!

      • I’d love to do OBX but I definitely understand expenses. Greenville’s pretty awesome too. 🙂

        Sent from my iPhone

  5. Pingback: Savannah Rock n Roll Marathon Training Week 3 | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

