Savannah Rock n Roll Marathon Training Week 9

I’m pretty pleased with the past week of training. The effects of a stellar speedwork session and super tough but fun race are hard to ignore.

Monday 8 miles intervals
I didn’t take a rest break until after mile 6 this time. The last few intervals were insanely tough. I did have to take a couple breaks between those but I loved how tough they were! I’m also amazed that I was able to complete 8 miles on the treadmill, a treadmill PDR. (I also wonder why treadmills cut you off after 60 minutes but that another question altogether.)

Tuesday spin class at gym + yoga
Today’s class felt harder than last week, most likely due to Monday’s speed work session. I still loved it though. Hopefully next week I’ll pick a bike that records the milage.
Yoga didn’t happen again due to time. I’m not sure I’ll be able to fit yoga in regularly until I’m done teaching for the semester.

Wednesday 7 miles regular run
My right knee was a little tight throughout the first mile but after that I didn’t notice anything. I’ve monitored it since then and have noticed no pain. Other than that I felt strong throughout the entire run.

Thursday 6 miles regular run
For some reason my pace Wednesday and Thursday was much slower than it felt like. I’m not sure why that is especially when I can bang out intervals for an average pace under 9 minutes. Other than the “slow” pace, the run felt awesome.

Friday stationary bike at gym
I was pretty tired going into it. I’ve been adjusting to my new schedule (getting up an hour earlier for work) and hadn’t gotten enough sleep for a few days. It’s amazing how much effect a few hours of lost sleep has. I felt tired coming out of the ride too but felt better starting a half hour afterwards. I took it easy for the rest of the day to prep for the half marathon.

Saturday Asheville Citizen-Times Half Marathon
I said it in Saturday’s post but I’ll say it again. I wish I was going to be in the area next year. I would run this race again in a heart beat.

Sunday rest

1 Comment

Filed under marathon

One response to “Savannah Rock n Roll Marathon Training Week 9

  1. Pingback: Savannah Rock n Roll Marathon Training | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

