22 miles–a difficult training PDR

Today I ran 22 miles, the furthest I’ve ever run besides my two marathons.

After my exceedingly successful 20 miler two weeks ago I had a feeling that this run wouldn’t go quite as well.

As the run approached my opinion seemed confirmed. Wednesday through Friday morning I dealt with cold like symptoms, including an overal lethargy. Friday a number of things converged and stressed me so much I started feeling phantom “weird” feelings in my back. Of course, I started worry about that.

Mom told me to just chill, rest. God used Shepherding Group last night to do that. I stopped stressing about all the school work that needed to be done and spent time fellowshipping with fellow believers. I came home refreshed and ready to tackle the 22 miles this morning.

As much I as I wanted it to, my body did not bounce back as quickly as my mind.

These 22 miles were tough. If it wasn’t one thing, it was another. First, my right knee needed a half mile or so to warm up. Then just behind the arch of my left food started hurting but stopped after a few miles. My legs ached but not from running a lot. I’m fairly certain that there were a couple other things that bugged me but I can’t remember what they were.

Honestly, I should have started tapering this week. Today’s original mileage was 14 but that’s before I adjusted the schedule to fit in the Asheville Citizen-Times Half Marathon and the iRecycle Half Marathon. I don’t regret that though.

Today I ran long and slow. In two weeks I’ll run long and (Lord-willing) a little faster. Today wasn’t all rainbows and smiles. That’s okay. Running isn’t always like that.

I finished the last long run of this training cycle, one I thought I might not be able to complete. I’m happy with what God has enabled me to do and look forward eagerly to running the marathon two weeks from today!

7 Comments

Filed under marathon

7 responses to “22 miles–a difficult training PDR

  1. I always say it’s good to get the bad runs out in training so you aren’t due for one on race day πŸ™‚

  2. This is what makes you ready!!! I hope you are enjoying the taper this week and getting ready for a big race in less than 2 weeks! I am hoping to increase my longest run to 22 miles before my next marathon too…it is probably more mental than anything, but you now know that you can get through it on race day. Good luck!! Don’t go too crazy in the taper πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I’ve got some fun stuff planned to keep myself occupied :). I’m volunteering at Spinx. Most likely I’ll be handing out finisher medals. If that doesn’t get me pumped up I don’t know what will. πŸ™‚

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Pingback: Savannah Rock N Roll Marathon Training Week 14 | Stepping Out

  4. Pingback: Savannah Rock n Roll Marathon Training | Stepping Out

  5. Pingback: A 13 mile return to the Swamp Rabbit Trail | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

