Harbison 50k Week 3 Training Recap (aka the last)

Even though I’m not training for this race anymore, I was when I ran/completed all the workouts the past week. Next Monday I hope to post a weekly recap with my goals for the Greenville News Run Downtown 5k and the Hilton Head Half Marathon.

So, how did last week’s training end up going?

Monday
These intervals felt awesome. Like previous times, I started at a five minute interval and then increased the time one minute for each interval. They weren’t as tough as I expected. They were still hard though especially when I threw in a sprint for the last mile (increased speed by a tenth each tenth of a mile). I will definitely increase speed for the next speedwork session.

Tuesday pump class
I did not want anything to do with cardio in my pump class. (The instructor decided to add cardio to give us a taste of cardioscuplt so we could decide if we liked it.) My bad mood threatened to derail all my efforts in that class. (I thought about walking out.) About halfway through I gave myself a talking to and finished well.

Wednesday 8 miles regular run
I made the rookie mistake of putting on the wrong shoes. I’m not sure how I made that mistake because there’s a 2-3 oz. difference in weight. After returning home to switch them out, the remaining 7 miles felt great!. I need to start pushing myself out of my comfort zone just a little bit. I think my speed will improve if I do. The final full out sprint I added to this run felt amazing.

Thursday Trees Greenville Turkey Day 8k
I definitely felt the call for speed here. 🙂

Friday stationary bike at gym
While I was a bit frustrated that the gym decided to open late, I came back and got in a strong ride. I pushed today to get an extra HBBC (holiday bootie buster challenge) point. Felt really good.

Saturday 21 11 miles long run
This run, though not what I originally intended for it to be, was exactly what I needed.

Sunday rest
Each Sunday I really love the rest day. 🙂 I don’t think that will change.

Leave a comment

Filed under #bestfoot challenges, ultramarathon

Leave a Reply

