Road Warrior Half Marathon Race Recap

aka the perfect way to end my 2012 race calendar

When the Greenville Track Club announced changes to the Paris Mountain Road Race 20k to make it into a half marathon I didn’t hesitate to register. (Okay, I probably would have run it anyway to get my 10+ race for December but the fact that it was a half marathon made it even better.)

I approached this race with one goal, beat my 20k time from last year. (I hoped also that that time would be under 2 hours too.)

I’m so glad that I made the Harbison decision last week. It took away the pressure of running conservatively. It left me free to run my own race.

IMG_2278
(my hair is almost  long enough to put back into a ponytail)

Mom and I walked to the start with some friends from church. Gloria ran the 20k last year but this was the first half marathon for Alan, her dad. What a half to pick for your first!

Once the race started I tried to pace myself conservatively. I knew that we started up Paris Mountain in just about a mile and I didn’t want to run fast and have nothing left for the Mountain. I kept Alan and Gloria in my sight hoping to drop them on the mountain or just after. 🙂 Turns out that training specifically for the race usually helps. 😉

Once we made the turn onto Altamont I thought about the previous 4 times that I’ve run up this mountain and what I’ve accomplished since then. That first trip (a training run for the 20k last year) was brutal. I barely ran any of it. The most recent two times I ran up Altamont as training for New River. Each trip involved significant amounts of walking. Since that time I’ve run 2 marathons and more miles than I thought possible. I started wondering if I could make it all the way to the summit without walking.

Thankfully I forgot how long it takes to get to the summit. (I probably would have taken a walking break if I had remembered.) That final incline right before the summit nearly did me in. The “dig deep” signs from Run In helped more than I thought. I felt like I’d met my goal right then. I still can’t believe that I did not walk once on Altamont. I didn’t think that was possible. Amazing things happen though when you have a little faith.

I thought I’d dropped Alan and Gloria somewhere on the mountain but soon after that I saw first Alan and then Gloria. I told myself to run my own race and not worry about beating them but then I decided that challenging myself was the race I wanted.

For the next few miles (until around mile 9) we kept jockeying back and forth. Then they started to pull away just before we turned off Altamont at the CVS. I couldn’t let that happen. Even though I still had 4-5 miles left I started increasing my speed. Once I pulled in front of them we stopped switching positions.

I felt so strong coming down the mountain, especially at this point. I didn’t know how long this “high” would last but I was determined to ride it until it ended.

Coralyn's pics of me
(Thanks Coralyn!)

Just after that picture was taken I started to feel it. I thought for sure I had gone out to fast but I was determined to push to the finish. There was no way I was giving up the sub 2 hour goal for the 20k.

I felt lowest just before mile 11 where Coralyn (Alan’s wife) and a couple other people were waiting to see Alan and Gloria.
Coralyn's pics of me 2

Since they know me too they cheered for me as well. It seems silly but every little bit counts. I powered through mile 11 and started to anticipate the finish.

A quick glance at my Garmin showed me that if I maintained my pace I could cross the 20k mark just under 2 hours.

One of the course changes was to divert us onto 276 (not sure of the name) rather than make us run up Duncan Chapel Road. I appreciated that so much! The one downside to this portion was being limited to run on the shoulder. The camber of the road was pretty bad but so was the option of getting hit by a car if I chose to run on the road. 😉

When I saw the 20k mark I started picking up my speed and even ran on the grass a bit to pass another runner.

I may or may not have let out a fist bump when I crossed that mark in 1:59:17. (I honestly can’t remember. :))

As we entered the Furman campus I thought about coasting to the finish about half a mile away. I achieved my goal after all. That lasted all of 20 seconds before I told myself to shut up and run. This is where the race is made.

We came around the round about and started heading down the straight away.

Mom saw me early on so there are plenty of pictures. Yes, I’m going to post all of them. 😀

IMG_2279
IMG_2280
IMG_2281
IMG_2282
IMG_2283 (I call this one “I’m-almost-an-Egyptian”)
IMG_2284
IMG_2276
IMG_2277
Coralyn's pics of me 3
The face of determination 😉

The final verdict?
IMG_2261
Yeah baby! That’s a mere 1:48 longer than it took me to run the 20k last year!

IMG_2275
I definitely earned my horns. 😉 (Seriously though, what on earth am I supposed to do with a plastic horned hat? Two of them now)

For those unfamiliar with the course:
Screen Shot 2012-12-01 at 2.01.38 PM

And…just for kicks. Last year:
Screen Shot 2012-12-01 at 2.00.50 PM

This year:
Screen Shot 2012-12-01 at 2.01.30 PM

If you made it this far, congrats. I tend to get a bit wordy when I’m excited.

I’m absolutely thrilled about my performance today and couldn’t think of a better way to close out my 2012 racing season. I feel the need for speed!

10 Comments

Filed under race recaps

10 responses to “Road Warrior Half Marathon Race Recap

  1. I was one of the volunteers at the entrance to Furman…I had a cow bell and big hair! 🙂 I am so encouraged each time that I read your blog. I thought I recognized you when you came by. So proud of all of those who did the PMRR. It was an awesome experience to cheer everyone on. I am so motivated to keep pushing toward my first Half!!! Good job today!!!

  2. todkehrli

    Congrats! That’s quite a climb at the start!

  3. Awesome race today! That’s a nutso course, but you killed it. Nice way to close out the year!

  4. Pingback: Hilton Head Half Marathon Training Week 2 | Stepping Out

  5. Great job! Congrats on a strong race on a really, really tough course. Paris is a beast, but those rolling hills around there are no slouch either! Love seeing how much you are improving so quickly in your times!!

  6. Pingback: Hilton head Island Half Marathon Training | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

