Hilton Head Island Half Marathon Training Week 2

Yeah, I know I labeled last week as week two. I was a bit confused. This is actually week 2. I’ll get myself sorted out soon.

Monday 7 miles tempo intervals
This was one of the toughest speedwork sessions I’ve had in a while. Part of that was because of the lingering effects of a cold. (I’m sure I looked pretty odd sprinting on the treadmill and occasionally letting out loud, barking coughs.) The other part that upped the difficulty was the increased speed. I increased it from 7.2 to 7.3 and could definitely feel a difference. During the last mile I increased the speed by a tenth every minute until I reached 8.0.

Tuesday pump class stationary bike at gym
Usually Tuesdays are pump class day. I’m a little sad that I didn’t go but it was the right choice. I’m pretty sure that my classmates appreciate being in class with someone coughing all over their equipment. Other than the nagging, annoying cough I feel just fine so I rode instead. The ride went well although I thought the bike had calibration issues. I was wrong.

Wednesday 6 miles regular run
Turns out that breathing is pretty important for running. I was still dealing with a lingering something (a cough at that point) but, other than looking rather odd as I ran, occasionally hacking away, I felt really, really good.

Thursday 6 miles regular run
Breathing certainly helps you run faster. This run felt great despite running into the wind almost the entire way back. (That will make one cold for sure.) I pushed on the uphills to maintain the pace and keep it under 10 minutes. (All previous runs had been right about 10 minutes for the uphill mile). All of the miles were 9:46 or under including a final mile of 8:29!

Friday stationary bike at gym
Yet another good ride. I figured out that it’s not the bike’s calibration; it’s my own.

Saturday 13 miles long run
It was so great to get back on the Swamp Rabbit Trail.

Sunday
I took it easy and researched what I should do for calf tightness. After some time I’m pretty sure that the tightness came on because of poor hydration. I’m working on drinking as much water as possible. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under half marathon

3 responses to “Hilton Head Island Half Marathon Training Week 2

  1. I hear ya on the cough and cold!! I’ve still got sniffles, but when it first hit those runs were way hard and I hate being that coughing person!

    • I actually had a cough similar to this when I ran the second half of the San Francisco marathon this summer and got my fair share of funny looks as I ran along hacking on a couple occasions. 🙂

      On Mon, Dec 10, 2012 at 9:45 AM, Stepping Out

  2. Pingback: Hilton head Island Half Marathon Training | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

