13 Miles, a New Treadmill PDR

Yeah, I did that.

Last night after checking the weather I resigned myself to running inside. The rain that had lasted all day yesterday showed no signs of letting up. I may love running in the cold but that love does not extend to running in the rain.

Don’t get me wrong. I’ve run a few races in the rain and absolutely loved it. I’ve completed training runs where the rain started while I was running. I didn’t mind those either. Starting in the rain? That’s another story. Besides, I had 13 miles to run and I’ve never run that long in the rain before.

Since my gym thinks that no one wants to work out before 8 on Saturday mornings, (You’d never guess that they’re in the personal fitness business. Oh wait, they are) that meant running on the treadmill at home. I wasn’t doing speedwork so the inability to lower the incline past 1.5 didn’t matter.

The one bright side to this run? I didn’t have to waste 40+ minutes driving to the trailhead and back home. I have so much more time in my day! (just a hint of sarcasm but it really is true)

Three episodes of Rookie Blue later, I finished.

This will definitely not go down as my favorite long run ever but it also wasn’t the worst. Actually, it wasn’t that bad. There were times when it got super boring and I wondered how I was going to make it another 4 or 3 or even 2 miles. Thankfully I had some really good television to get me through. There’s no way I could have done it otherwise.

So, I’ve now run a half marathon on the treadmill. How many people can say that?
(Don’t answer that.)

2 Comments

Filed under marathon

2 responses to “13 Miles, a New Treadmill PDR

  1. Pingback: San Francisco Marathon Training Week 2 Recap | Stepping Out

  2. Pingback: San Francisco Marathon Training | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

