Two Months In, A Check Up

This year, in an effort to avoid forgetting any of my goals, I plan to post a brief recap on where I stand so far on my goals.

(This may change as the year goes on but for now this is the plan.)

Below each listed goal I will give a status update. If I haven’t made any progress towards a particular goal I will also post a brief plan of action to change that.

Fitness

1. Run 1800 miles (Reach: 2000)
Total miles ran in February: 132.08
Total miles ran in 2013 so far: 283.71
Total miles remaining (1800): 1,516.29
Total miles remaining (2000): 1,716.29
At this rate I need to maintain a minimum of 35 miles per week to reach my goal of 1800 and a minimum of 39.5 miles per week to achieve my reach goal. This is still about the same as January. February was a low month mileage wise for two reasons: short month + taper for Hilton Head. Exceeding those averages won’t be a problem during marathon training.

2. Race at least once a month.
I wasn’t sure that this would happen at first for March and I was okay with that. However, thanks to a great local deal I’m running half marathons in both March and April.

3. Strength train twice a week
Through marathon training my goal is definitely at least one session per week. I thought that it might not happen because of the big step up in mileage. However, I have rediscovered NTC which makes fitting in strength training that much easier.

4. Start Swimming
This is not happening until May, at least. There’s no way I could fit this in.

Scholastic

5. Make thesis and PhD work a top priority.
With almost half the semester gone, things are starting to get real. February saw a couple days filled with procrastination but usually that’s all it takes to make me sit up and start working again.

6. Take the blog in a new direction.
All through February I engaged in Katy Widrick’s 28 day blog challenge. I didn’t participate as many days as I had hoped but I did make some pretty significant improvements.

7. Read 150 books.
February was quite the successful month of reading for me. I’ve caught up with the goodreads challenge 2013 widgit and surpassed it with flying colors. So far this year I’ve read 34 books, 10 books ahead of schedule.

Personal

8. Take 1,000 pictures/Have 8,000 photos uploaded to flickr.
A trip to the beach was all I needed to really get this ball rolling. 50 pictures in 24 hours.
This year I have taken 214 pics with 786 left to go.
I have a total of 7174 uploaded to flickr with 826 remaining.
At this rate I need to take 2.5 pictures per day to reach the 1,000 pictures goal and 2.7 pictures per day to reach the 8,000 picture total.

So far things to be going really well! I have to admit that I am trying to work ahead especially for the reading and photography goal. I have no idea what the second half of 2013 will bring but I want to do everything I can to meet these goals.

Leave a comment

Filed under goal

Leave a Reply

