14 Miles – A Romp in the Snow

Okay, I took a good bit of artistic license with the title.

I did technically run in the snow this morning but outside of the south no one would count it as snow. 🙂

Initially when I heard the weather forecast I was apprehensive. I know I survived 13 miles on the treadmill last week but there was no way I was doing that again. I would take being wet and miserable first.

In the end, I’m very thankful that I didn’t have to worry about rain. Instead I got a little bit of snow for the first half of the run.

Now to the run itself. Today was my fifth run of the week. I’ll talk more in Monday’s recap post about adjusting to five running days per week. It’s definitely an adjustment.

My legs communicated loud and clear that they were not altogether pleased with getting out for a fifth time in one week.

That being said, the first half of the run went pretty well. I enjoyed the snow and the chilly temps. Then I turned around to head back to my starting point. (Today I ran 3.5 miles out towards TR, back to my car for a total of 7 before heading out for another 3.5 towards downtown.) Somehow I always forget that about a mile out from Furman there’s a lovely gradual incline.

I started to beat myself up but then I realized that I was running uphill. Silly me. I have got to figure out a better way of discerning the uphill portions. 🙂

Once I got over that hurdle things started to level out until just before my second turn around point, near mile 10.5. I was really feeling the fifth day of running and ready to be done. That feeling kept intensifying for the next mile or so until right before I hit mile 12. For a few yards I felt almost like I was either going backwards or running on a treadmill with the incline turned way up. It was the weirdest feeling. Somehow I got through it. Perhaps it was the thought of walking for a little bit while I ate the last of my chomps at mile 12.

After I got through that little section I wanted to conquer the rest of my run. Only a little more than two miles remained. I could do this. I didn’t need to walk. So that’s what I did.

This definitely wasn’t my best long run but it certainly wasn’t the worst either. Every run is good in my book.

Up next? Swamp Rabbit Race to Greenville (half marathon) next Saturday

2 Comments

Filed under marathon

2 responses to “14 Miles – A Romp in the Snow

  1. Pingback: San Francisco Marathon Training Week 3 Recap | Stepping Out

  2. Pingback: San Francisco Marathon Training | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

