One Quarter Down, Three To Go

The end of another month has come and with the end of one month and the start of another comes a check in post.

Fitness

1. Run 1800 miles (Reach: 2000)
Total miles ran in February: 197.45
Total miles ran in 2013 so far: 481.16
Total miles remaining (1800): 1,318.84
Total miles remaining (2000): 1,518.84
At this rate I need to maintain a minimum of 33.8 miles per week to reach my goal of 1800 and a minimum of 38.9 miles per week to achieve my reach goal. This is a little better than February. I’m not certain but I think March was my highest mileage month yet. With another marathon scheduled for the fall I have full confidence that I’ll meet both goals.

2. Race at least once a month.
Three for three. March’s race was so much more successful than I could have imagined.

3. Strength train twice a week
I maintained one NTC workout per week after runs. Most of those sessions left me wiped. However, a few times in the second half of this training plan I have double digit runs scheduled on normal strength training days. Those weeks, I’m skipping strength training.

4. Start Swimming
I’m not sure when, if ever this is going to happen this year. High mileage plans don’t leave much room for cross-training.

Scholastic

5. Make thesis and PhD work a top priority.
Well, this is what I’ve mentioned in passing before. March was the month that I found out that I will not be heading off for PhD work in the fall. Instead, I will be getting a job and starting round two of PhD applications. Thus, this goal still applies. I will be working pretty much nonstop for the next month on thesis. After that? round 2

6. Take the blog in a new direction.
The blog has taken a back seat this month thanks to all the writing. I have several ideas that I want to write about. I might get to them in April but that will probably happen after graduation.

7. Read 150 books.
So far this year I’ve read 51 books, 14 books ahead of schedule. My pace might slow a little as I attempt to finish my thesis but I plan to keep plugging away.

Personal

8. Take 1,000 pictures/Have 8,000 photos uploaded to flickr.
This year I have taken 302 pics with 698 left to go.
I have a total of 7268 uploaded to flickr with 732 remaining.
At this rate I need to take 2.5 pictures per day to reach the 1,000 pictures goal and 2.7 pictures per day to reach the 8,000 picture total.
I didn’t make any progress on this one since I took multiple pictures on only a few different days. That’s something I plan to work on during April.

2 Comments

Filed under goal

2 responses to “One Quarter Down, Three To Go

  1. Wow, 51 books already? I’m in awe.

Leave a Reply

