San Francisco Marathon Week 10 Training Recap

This has been a tough week of training, mentally and emotionally. Monday’s events shook the running community to its core. To process everything, I like many others, laced up my shoes and ran and ran hard. All of my runs this week were intense, probably not the best idea on a cut back week right before my highest mileage week, ever.

That being said. I’m rolling with the punches and focusing on training smart. That’s what will get me to Boston.

Monday 8 miles with 800m intervals
I absolutely loved this run. The intervals were tough but not so tough that I felt like I was going to die. I might just have to increase the interval speed again. (This was supposed to be the only intense run of the week.)

Tuesday 8 miles regular run
This is what I wrote after I finished the run:
I ran to process all that happened in Boston. That’s what runners do. With each step I took I became even more determined to run Boston. Whatever I have to do, however I have to train, I will run the Boston Marathon.

Wednesday 5 miles “recovery” (it wasn’t recovery at all)
I ran determined to run faster than usual. If I’m going to BQ, I need a new, faster average pace. The hills felt super hard. The humidity drained me but I banged out a run with a 9:01 average and actual negative splits. (9:17, 9:16, 9:03, 9:02, 8:28)

Thursday stationary bike
I wanted to run but part of being a smart runner (and getting one stop closer to BQ on this long journey) means corsstraining (and resting) occasionally. I read about running instead.

Friday 8 miles with 8 X 100m strides
This run was supposed to have strides but I chose to skip them to focus on prep for the half tomorrow. I told myself to take it easy, especially with the “lovely” humidity, but still managed a 9:16 pace, whoops. This run felt so much lighter than the previous runs this week, less anger.

Saturday Greer Earth Day Half Marathon
Hardest race in a long time but so worth it.

Sunday
Yesterday’s run took a lot out of me so I’ve been doing my best to rest and prep for next week’s high mileage.

(P.S. Can you tell that I have BQ on my mind?)

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “San Francisco Marathon Week 10 Training Recap

  1. You had a GREAT week – and I’m excited to follow along and see you hit that BQ! 🙂

  2. I am confident that you will get that BQ someday soon. You have gotten so much faster, just in the time that I have been reading your blog and I know you will continue to get faster and smarter! Since I followed a similar plan (Advanced Marathoning) and ramped up mileage, just as you are for this training cycle…just a quick reminder that the “recovery runs” really are supposed to be EASY! I went from a 3/4-day a week to 5-day a week training schedule and I definitely used those recovery runs to get the blood flowing and promote recovery…usually ran them around 9:00 – 9:30 which is 60 – 90 sec slower than MGP. When your legs feel good, sometimes its tough to force yourself to slow down, but its definitely all part of the plan!! I can’t wait to see how San Francisco goes and follow your journey to that 3:34:59!!!

    • Thank you so much! I’m definitely focusing on taking it easy this week. (I made myself run on the treadmill this morning to eliminate the hills and force myself to run slower. 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Pingback: San Francisco Marathon Training | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

