San Francisco Marathon Week 13 Training Recap

Only five weeks remain before d-day, aka June 16th. Doubts start creeping in. I think only taper is more difficult to get through in a marathon training cycle. This week had its highs and lows but in the end I’m ready to push forward.

Monday 8 miles recovery run
I ran inside just because for this run. (It also doesn’t hurt that running inside means no hills. I think I might do that from now on on the first run after a long run.) Throughout the run I felt pretty good. This was a good recovery run.

Tuesday 9 miles with 5 1k intervals at 5k pace
These intervals (especially the last) were so hard but so much fun. I loved them and can’t wait to do more.

Wednesday stationary bike at gym
This ride felt hard, like the resistance was way up. I also felt like I was about to nod off a couple times. (That’s a new feeling.) I’m still getting used to the new wake up time. (All about getting in the training before work.)

Thursday 12 miles regular run
Again, the hills felt hard. The whole thing felt hard, hard like it did last summer when my pace slowed and I struggled with almost every run. I have got to figure this out because I am not letting this summer repeat the pattern of “two steps back” that the past two summers have taken.

Friday 5 miles recovery
This run felt perfectly average. It was a little tough to get started but nothing out of the ordinary.

Saturday Marathon specific 17 miles with 14 at race pace
After the tough run Thursday, I wasn’t sure what to expect with this one. Suffice it to say, the run exceeded my expectations.

Sunday rest

3 Comments

Filed under marathon, running

3 responses to “San Francisco Marathon Week 13 Training Recap

  1. Great week lady! Don’t let doubt creep in – you’ve worked so hard and you are seriously kicking TAIL! Keep it up! 🙂

    • Thanks so much for the kind words, Megan! Most of the doubt was wiped away by Saturday’s spectacular long run and today’s speed work session.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Pingback: San Francisco Marathon Training | Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

